Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Warning: Making this recipe will cause hubby to act like an ape, tell you this is caveman food, gunt, smile, and fill his plate a couple times LOL! The recipe is rather easy and flavorful. The one thing I want others to note is: do not double the gravy makings when doubling the meat. I had already doubled the gravy amount not thinking it would be a huge deal, until after the entire dish was completed and uncovered from the baking process. I had well enough gravy for several batches of mashed taters and biscuits. However, it's not a bad thing, but really if you double the meat, it's not neccessary to double the gravy. Will make again. It was really really delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
In the midst of winter and between holidays it was just a great unusual dish to make! Delicious. I omitted the chopped onion and added a few red potatoes and it was simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Oh my ! ~ This was Wonderful. My husband kept saying how good it was. And almost with each bite he would look at me and give me a thumbs up =) I TWISTED it UP though ~I used what I had on hand. 4 medium to large Pork Steaks,1 inch thick. Subbed mushroom soup with 2(10.75 ounce) cans cream chicken soup. 1 carton fresh mushrooms chopped. 2 med onions chopped. 4 cloves garlic minced. 4 tbsp Worcestershire sauce. 2 (10.75 ounce)cans water. 8 bay leaves. Combined canned and dry soup, water, Worcestershire sauce, and 1 generous tbsp flour. Mix well. Put aside. Chopped all veggies and put aside to rest.Sprinkled salt and pepper, garlic powder on one side only of Pork Steaks. Fried in heavy pot approx 3 to 5 min. each side. *** Stacked in CROCKPOT with Bay Leaves layered between each steak. Put CROCK on warm and covered with lid. Placed onions, garlic in drippings and cooked for 5 min. Added mushrooms, cooked 3 more min. Add soup mixture heat to boiling and cook 4 to 5 min, stirring often. Pour gravy mixture over Pork Steaks in crockpot and cook on high for 2 to 3 hours. Note: I cooked mine for two hrs. We ate them with rice. Steaks were tender, we didn't need a knife. Would have been even more tender, had it cooked for 3 hours. Gravy had a super flavor. Every flavor seemed to burst. Nothing was over powering. If you try this TWIST UP ~ I sure hope you enjoy it =) oh... and don't eat the Bay Leaves LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoBlue77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was a great recipe. Next time I will scale back on the salt a bit just because the sodium in the lipton onion soup mix. My family cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzaanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was very tender. However, I wish that the amount of salt and pepper the author used would have been included rather than saying "to taste." Instead of using onion powder, garlic power, salt and pepper, I used Seasoning Salt. I used the same amount I would normally put on hamburger patties but this came out way too salty. I guess with the sodium content of the dry onion soup mix and the Worcestershire sauce it may have made it too salty. Lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Good stuff. Made as is, and will make it again. Probably a 4.5 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was a total hit! Kids loved it, so that makes it a winner in my house. Will be making this again! I did make a slight change though...We don't like mushrooms, so I omitted them and I used cream of celery rather than the cream of mushroom soup. It was really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent gravy-smothered meal! Browned in garlic-infused olive oil (big fan), set meat aside and cooked fresh sliced mushrooms and chopped onion in the pan for 5-6 minutes, added a glug of brandy (2 to 3 TBS) and set on fire. Stirred in chicken broth in place of water, soup, dry onion soup mix and Worchestershire. Added meat and covered pan with alum foil, stuck in oven for an hour and a half. Simple, tasty, comforting - and flambe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good. I did not put it in the oven. I just added the soup, onions and mushrooms to the frypan. Covered and simmered until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe works great for either steaks or chops. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States