Iowa Maid-Rites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was wonderful! I grew up in Iowa and remember Maidrites well. I used one can only of French onion soup, and added 1/2 cup water. My boyfriend & a friend ate almost all of it, I was lucky I got one sandwich but it was perfect. Very easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I served this for a girls day and they loved it! I am from Iowa and Maid-Rites was a family favorite. ALthough not exact, they are extrememly tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe...kids loved it. I used leftovers in spaghetti sauce..tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMAAJF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have never had an Iowa Maid-Rites... so I cannot compare them to that. However, THIS sandwich was extremely tasty. I am single, so I made it as is and then I am about to freeze it. Later, with a little diced tomato and chiles, a great little nacho plate. I love it! GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
i am not a big fan of sloppy joes so thought i would try this recipe as it sounded good. we loved it. very tasty and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I am so glad to have found this recipe! When I was in college a drive-in there sold these sandwiches, although they were not called Maid-Rites. It was the descriptive term "loose meat" that jogged my memory. This IS the recipe. (If you add anything like extra spices or tomato sauce, you create a completely new recipe. It isn't meant to be "kicked up a notch".) We always thought that one of these sandwiches with a frosty glass mug of root beer was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Thanks for this recipe! I added a little garlic powder when browning the beef. GREAT recipe. I am from Iowa and know what a maid rite is. This was soooo good. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Followed the recipe, but simmered for longer than stated. Had to add water as it simmered which seemed to be exactly what was needed. The added water kind of toned down the strong flavors. My husband & I are both Iowan's, born & raised, & this recipe brings home a little closer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Never ate one in Iowa, but to me, it tasted like a steak sandwich of sorts. My bf and I gobbled them up! I chopped a large onion, used ground round, beef stock, garlic powder, S&P, and worcestershire sauce. Cooked it down to almost dry, and they were scrumptious. We ate them on fresh onion buns. It was a spur of the moment late dinner, but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I'd never even heard of Maid-Rites until I stumbled across them on an unrelated web search, and had to try them. I had a can each of beefy mushroom and golden mushroom soup, so that's what went in the pot with the beef (seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder) and onion soup mix. 3 hours in the slow cooker and a little added beef broth yielded yummy tender meat, much better than what I thought initially looking at the simple ingredients. Not sure if the flavor is authentically Maid-Rite, but it sure tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States