Iowa Maid-Rites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is okay, but not the recipe for maid-rites. Cook 1 1/2# ground beef with 1 small onion chopped fine. Drain fat and then add seasoned salt, 1 chicken bouillon cube and about 1/4 cup water. Cook for at least 30 minutes over low heat, adding more water if needed. Then turn heat up the last few minutes to evaporate extra liquid. This will get you so much closer to the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Although it is a good maid rite recipe, it doesn't come close to the Maid Rites served here in my area. I am located in the Quad City area...famous for Maid Rites. Substitute the onion soup mix and french onion soup for chicken broth and add minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Growing up in Iowa and a big fan of the original Maid-Rite I have been searching long and hard for a recipe that would do them justice. My search is over this ios down home comfort food at it's finest. Try it you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I'm sorry- but I live in Iowa, and these are not like the maid rites I know. Still it was a good loose meat sandwich- but not the maid rite flavor I was expecting. My mom is a manager at a maid rite, and I asked her if this was even close- and it isn't, although she wouldn't tell me anymore than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
For those who have brought up it in the revies that this doesn't come close to a "real" maidrite...if you read in my description it wasn't billed as being "authentic" but my OWN version. Just to clear up any confusion you might have. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stanislav Hein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These were really great. I wasn't clear on adding water or, not to the recipe if I used a slow cooker? I did, and they had too much liquid. Does anyone know about this? They were even better the second time around because four pounds of meat is quite alot for a small family and the liquid absorbed. Adding salt, if your diet allows it also made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was wonderful! I grew up in Iowa and remember Maidrites well. I used one can only of French onion soup, and added 1/2 cup water. My boyfriend & a friend ate almost all of it, I was lucky I got one sandwich but it was perfect. Very easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have never had an Iowa Maid-Rites... so I cannot compare them to that. However, THIS sandwich was extremely tasty. I am single, so I made it as is and then I am about to freeze it. Later, with a little diced tomato and chiles, a great little nacho plate. I love it! GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
i am not a big fan of sloppy joes so thought i would try this recipe as it sounded good. we loved it. very tasty and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Not a MaidRite. I don't think it comes close. Nice meat and onion flavor. It will get eaten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States