Iowa Maid-Rites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have never had an Iowa Maid-Rites... so I cannot compare them to that. However, THIS sandwich was extremely tasty. I am single, so I made it as is and then I am about to freeze it. Later, with a little diced tomato and chiles, a great little nacho plate. I love it! GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I'm sorry- but I live in Iowa, and these are not like the maid rites I know. Still it was a good loose meat sandwich- but not the maid rite flavor I was expecting. My mom is a manager at a maid rite, and I asked her if this was even close- and it isn't, although she wouldn't tell me anymore than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was wonderful! I grew up in Iowa and remember Maidrites well. I used one can only of French onion soup, and added 1/2 cup water. My boyfriend & a friend ate almost all of it, I was lucky I got one sandwich but it was perfect. Very easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe...kids loved it. I used leftovers in spaghetti sauce..tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMAAJF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Thanks for this recipe! I added a little garlic powder when browning the beef. GREAT recipe. I am from Iowa and know what a maid rite is. This was soooo good. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I am so glad to have found this recipe! When I was in college a drive-in there sold these sandwiches, although they were not called Maid-Rites. It was the descriptive term "loose meat" that jogged my memory. This IS the recipe. (If you add anything like extra spices or tomato sauce, you create a completely new recipe. It isn't meant to be "kicked up a notch".) We always thought that one of these sandwiches with a frosty glass mug of root beer was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
VERY GOOD..I DID USE LEAN GROUND BEEF TO MAKE IT LOWER IN FAT AND I ADDED A BIT OF MUSTARD TO THE BEEF MIXTURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Growing up in Iowa and a big fan of the original Maid-Rite I have been searching long and hard for a recipe that would do them justice. My search is over this ios down home comfort food at it's finest. Try it you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States