Iowa Maid-Rites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
In comparison with an actual Maid Rite sandwich - it's completely different. Though give it a different name and it's an alright sandwich that's easy to make and takes very little time. We'll have these again, but I wont be calling them "Maid Rites"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Too much sour, salty onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynzieK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I'd never even heard of Maid-Rites until I stumbled across them on an unrelated web search, and had to try them. I had a can each of beefy mushroom and golden mushroom soup, so that's what went in the pot with the beef (seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder) and onion soup mix. 3 hours in the slow cooker and a little added beef broth yielded yummy tender meat, much better than what I thought initially looking at the simple ingredients. Not sure if the flavor is authentically Maid-Rite, but it sure tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Not even close to a true Iowa Maidrite sandwich. But they are tasty because of all the onion seasoning. Needs alot of tweaking to be useful in any other recipes though. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Shifflett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Burlington born and raised. Have a "real" Maid-Rite close by so I presented this challenge: While my wife was busy with this receipe I actually went down to the corner and bought 2 "Real" Made-Rite sandwhiches. To wander a bit off subject, there is a reason the "real" made-Rite is called "Made-Rite"! For those that may be a little foggy in the head, that's a play on the phrase "Made Right". If you use this recipe, you WILL NOT have a "Made-Rite". You WILL have yet another persons idea of what 'might" be the made right Made-Rite receipe, but side by side this receipe doesn't cut it either. It WILL imitate the real thing, but it just isn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were pretty good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Not bad but not a Maid Rite. Another here from Iowa, Great Uncle owned the Anamosa Maid Rite in 40's or 50's. Keep it simple, meat is steamed not browned. The rest is family secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very good. Its like a really oniony, gravy type version of a sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is okay, but not the recipe for maid-rites. Cook 1 1/2# ground beef with 1 small onion chopped fine. Drain fat and then add seasoned salt, 1 chicken bouillon cube and about 1/4 cup water. Cook for at least 30 minutes over low heat, adding more water if needed. Then turn heat up the last few minutes to evaporate extra liquid. This will get you so much closer to the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Like a sloppy joe without the "slop" to hold it together. A little messy to eat, nice flavor with the onion. This was pretty much a french dip with the meat cooked in the dip part. I cut this down to use 3/4 lb meat and used the whole can of soup and left out the dried package. I let this simmer for 45 min. until the liquid was gone. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States