Iowa Maid-Rites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cis Pecarich Ramsdell
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Wonderful! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
this recipe is to salty for me sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I haven't had a "real" Maid-Rite in maybe ten years, so I can't really say how genuine this recipe is or isn't, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
As a child my father used to make Maid Rites, he grew up in Fairfield Iowa and worked in a dinner back in the 1930/40's. He made them by frying the hamburger and adding a lump of butter that was it. We loved them, I always put ketchup on mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Ohio, USA
Living In: Piketon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This sounds like a good recipe, but it looks like there is as much controversy over the MaidRites as here in Nebraska over the "Runza". We've called loose meat sandwiches "Sloppy Joes" around here. Now I remember growing up in the 50's here in Lincoln,Ne. there was drive-up and sit down restaurant called "The Patio", it had a flat roof and on the weekends they had live music up there(what a hoot). They made a signature loose meat sandwich called a "T-Z". One of my friend's mother worked there and the owner always made up the loose meat himself and she said he would pull an envelope with some special seasonings in it out of his pocket when making the concoction and she never found out what they were. They were yummy though but when I think back a lot of things were more tasty because our French fries and onion rings were deep fried in real beef tallow rather than veggie oil. Now that I think of it we still have a drive thru that serves loose meat sandwiches called "Tasty Inn" and onion chips with a to die for dip. I believe this was one of the very first drive-ups in Lincoln,Ne. There used to be several in Nebraska but I believe this is the only one left, this business has to be older than Runza. Just Google "Tasty Inn" Lincoln,Ne. the recipes should come up. Now don't get me started on the original "Valentino's Pizza". Bon Appetite n' Hasta La Bye Bye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LD Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I've made variations of this recipe ever since I found it on this site. Tonight I think I finally came up with the right combination of ingredients. I only used 1 lb. hamburger. Browned the meat, then added 2 TBSP. dry onion soup mix and 1 whole can of French Onion soup. This combination made the mixture favorable and just the right amount of moisture. I only simmered it for 1/2 hour. Was excellent.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
These are delicious! I'm from Iowa and I've had Maid-Rites but I was too young to remember what they were like, since the restaurant in my area closed when I was very young, but it doesn't matter because these are awesome either way. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is our new favorite maid-rite recipe. I'm from IA and must say that this reminds me of home. We don't stock our pantry w/ soup mix so we substituted fresh onion & garlic, salt, pepper and a little chicken stock. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Pretty close, but not just as I remembered from my Iowa childhood. I add vinegar and fresh bread to thicken mine. No one refused to eat it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States