Iowa Maid-Rites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Growing up in Iowa and a big fan of the original Maid-Rite I have been searching long and hard for a recipe that would do them justice. My search is over this ios down home comfort food at it's finest. Try it you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
VERY GOOD..I DID USE LEAN GROUND BEEF TO MAKE IT LOWER IN FAT AND I ADDED A BIT OF MUSTARD TO THE BEEF MIXTURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I am so glad to have found this recipe! When I was in college a drive-in there sold these sandwiches, although they were not called Maid-Rites. It was the descriptive term "loose meat" that jogged my memory. This IS the recipe. (If you add anything like extra spices or tomato sauce, you create a completely new recipe. It isn't meant to be "kicked up a notch".) We always thought that one of these sandwiches with a frosty glass mug of root beer was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Thanks for this recipe! I added a little garlic powder when browning the beef. GREAT recipe. I am from Iowa and know what a maid rite is. This was soooo good. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe...kids loved it. I used leftovers in spaghetti sauce..tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMAAJF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was wonderful! I grew up in Iowa and remember Maidrites well. I used one can only of French onion soup, and added 1/2 cup water. My boyfriend & a friend ate almost all of it, I was lucky I got one sandwich but it was perfect. Very easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I'm sorry- but I live in Iowa, and these are not like the maid rites I know. Still it was a good loose meat sandwich- but not the maid rite flavor I was expecting. My mom is a manager at a maid rite, and I asked her if this was even close- and it isn't, although she wouldn't tell me anymore than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have never had an Iowa Maid-Rites... so I cannot compare them to that. However, THIS sandwich was extremely tasty. I am single, so I made it as is and then I am about to freeze it. Later, with a little diced tomato and chiles, a great little nacho plate. I love it! GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My kids loved the meat and ate it straight from the pan because they didn't want bread. I thought it was just Okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Mader Wisniewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
We really like them if there is any left over I freeze it or put it in spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States