Iowa Maid-Rites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
As a mid-westerner, I am familiar with the maid-rite. This version is close to the original and very good. The flavors are very subtle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Although it is a good maid rite recipe, it doesn't come close to the Maid Rites served here in my area. I am located in the Quad City area...famous for Maid Rites. Substitute the onion soup mix and french onion soup for chicken broth and add minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I served this for a girls day and they loved it! I am from Iowa and Maid-Rites was a family favorite. ALthough not exact, they are extrememly tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I am from Iowa and I live in Tulsa now, Maid-Rites are the best thing next to Tenderloins and this recipe was the futherest thing from them. It is way to intense!!! If you ever give it another go I would love to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Followed the recipe, but simmered for longer than stated. Had to add water as it simmered which seemed to be exactly what was needed. The added water kind of toned down the strong flavors. My husband & I are both Iowan's, born & raised, & this recipe brings home a little closer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
i am not a big fan of sloppy joes so thought i would try this recipe as it sounded good. we loved it. very tasty and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These were really great. I wasn't clear on adding water or, not to the recipe if I used a slow cooker? I did, and they had too much liquid. Does anyone know about this? They were even better the second time around because four pounds of meat is quite alot for a small family and the liquid absorbed. Adding salt, if your diet allows it also made it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Not a MaidRite. I don't think it comes close. Nice meat and onion flavor. It will get eaten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
We really like them if there is any left over I freeze it or put it in spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My kids loved the meat and ate it straight from the pan because they didn't want bread. I thought it was just Okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYSAN01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States