Instant Russian Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great recipe! i didn't add any extra sugar b/c i used a pre-sweetened lemonade mix (of course tang is pre-sweetened as well). it would have been way too sweet if i would have added the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I like this, but I'm not so certain about the amount of Tang involved. I didn't use the entire amount called for bc I didn't have enough, but I'd maybe cut that to 1 1/2 c or 1 c and increase the tea a bit. It does remind me a bit of mulled cider, but I'd have to experiment a bit more to make it a little more to my liking. Still, it is a nice hot drink that I like better than hot chocolate and a bit less than cider. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Well, I have never tasted Russian tea, so I can't compare this to that. This is very good and addictive on cold winter mornings. I used Lipton tea powder, a small container of Tang which was not quite 2 cups, and sweetened Countrytime lemonade powder in the plastic container. I didn't have allspice so I used 1/2 tsp cloves and a splash of nutmeg. It is heavenly. Made it for gifts and just labeled it "Spiced Orange Tea". It is not too orangy, not too sweet, and not too spicy. Just right! The drink is a brownish orange color. Thanks!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I have made this for about 3 years in a row now! And every winter I come back to this recipe!! I love it!! I add a little more allspice because it makes it deeper (?) tasting, not just sweet! But I love it either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made a jar of this mix and brought it in to work. Whenever I want some, I just get some hot water and mix! It's a good way to warm up in a cold office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Does anyone have any suggestions...Tang has been reformulated and now is "ultra concentrated". I tried substituting orange cool-aid mix for the Tang and it was horrible, way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I've used this receipe to give as holiday gifts by putting this in embellished mason jars. It's always a hit and is a childhood favorite of mine...so comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSunflwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I drink this all winter long. I really LOVEto drink this HOT in the WINTER SEASON when it is COLD OUTSIDE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vaiden, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Really too sweet, although that could have been my fault, because I didn't know what lemonade mix they meant, and used country time which is sweetened, maybe I should have used unsweetened Koolaid? Not as good as my mom used to make, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very good, a bit too sweet. I was hoping it would be exactly like my grandma's used to be. I think next time i won't add as much sugar, or lemonade mix to make it more to my liking! But thank you very much for posting this recipe, otherwise I would of never had anything even NEAR my grandma's recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States