Instant Oatmeal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
i love this recipe between my son and husband who each eat 2 packets almost every morning i go through almost 2 boxes of the store bought every week! this recipe is great for me because i am an avid baker i have all these ingredients laying around my house already i also dehydrated some strawberries,blueberries,bananas,peaches blackberries and raspberries to make "cream" flavored oatmeals AWESOME!!! i just put the oats and mixture into ziplock baggies add the dried fruit and they just grab them up and throw it in the microwave with 2/3 c water and breakfast for way cheaper than before this is a 5 star recipe for taste ease and money saving!! thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I make this all the time, but have changed the recipe quite a bit. I use 1 cup dry milk powder, 3/4 cup icing sugar, and 1/3 cup brown sugar. I don't use any salt. Then I add whatever spices and dried fruit I want. My stand by is about 2 tbsp cinnamon and 1 cup raisins, but I've also tried it with dried blueberries and it turned out great. I eat it every morning, and love that it isn't as sugary as the packaged instant oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Leave out all spices but cinnamon for it to taste EXACTLY like Quaker maple and brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Wish I could rank this 4 1/2 stars, my family eats oatmeal enough that this could save us some money which is great! The flavor was good but next time I make it I plan to leave out the cardamom (I think that was the flavor my 7 year old was not thrilled with). Oh another thing I like about this recipe is I have been watching my weight so this gives me the option of a nice quick and easy breakfast and I can put as little or as much of the mix in as I like. I don't have a choice with the packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made my own Pumpkin Pie Spice 1 from this website. It is a little heavy on the ginger. I add a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar, which my kids enjoy doing anyway, to even it out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent substitute for the store bought and way more economical. I did cut back on the confectionary sugar by half, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very happy with the mix. We are saving so much money by going this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
We enjoy this a lot. I like the idea of having preservative free flavored oatmeal at home. I usually make regular oatmael at home because the flavored stuff at the store has so much sugar and preservatives. With this recipe you can control the sugar amount (I used half and still tasted great). I just wish I could figure out how to make strawberry flavored, peach, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My husband goes through 4 packets of the storebought instant at a time. And my 3 yr old is quickly gaining on him. This is a wonderful recipe. Tastes like a cross between cinnamon spice and maple brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
YAY!!! i never know what to do with the "original flavor" instant oatmeal that comes with the variety pack that no one in the family will eat. i hate throwing them out and there is no recipe that uses instant oatmeal. At last...this recipe is perfect. my 3 year old daughter doesn't even notice that this was the plain, doctored up! i add a scant tablespoon of this mix, 1/2 cup of boiling water. i didn't add cardamon and i didn't use the powdered milk because i don't have any, and...well, its EXPENSIVE! i don't have any other need for powdered milk so i didn't want to buy just for this. i figured i could add a splash of milk or cream to the prepared oatmeal if needed. Well my 3 year old daughter gobbled it up and that was without the splash of milk! thank you soooo much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States