Instant Oatmeal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
DISAPPOINTING. My kids refused to eat it, and they love oatmeal. If I could rate it less than 1 star, I would. Maybe it would be better if the dry milk was omitted. I think that changed the consistency, and not in a good way. Now I'm trying to figure out how to salvage it so that all those great ingredients don't go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I had to increase the brown sugar to make it actually taste like the store bought kind. But as other reviewers have stated, if you want less sugar than what is found in the store-bought varieties this is a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Leave out all spices but cinnamon for it to taste EXACTLY like Quaker maple and brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I make this all the time, but have changed the recipe quite a bit. I use 1 cup dry milk powder, 3/4 cup icing sugar, and 1/3 cup brown sugar. I don't use any salt. Then I add whatever spices and dried fruit I want. My stand by is about 2 tbsp cinnamon and 1 cup raisins, but I've also tried it with dried blueberries and it turned out great. I eat it every morning, and love that it isn't as sugary as the packaged instant oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
We enjoy this a lot. I like the idea of having preservative free flavored oatmeal at home. I usually make regular oatmael at home because the flavored stuff at the store has so much sugar and preservatives. With this recipe you can control the sugar amount (I used half and still tasted great). I just wish I could figure out how to make strawberry flavored, peach, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We loved this, in spite of the fact that I accidentally used old fashioned oatmeal instead of quick-cooking oatmeal (OK, so it had just a little more "texture"), but that's my mistake, not the recipe's problem. I actually cook with cardamon quite often, so when I saw that ingredient, that was enough to send me to kitchen to mix this up. That and the fact that I had a box of nonfat dry milk powder sitting around for what seems like forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Wish I could rank this 4 1/2 stars, my family eats oatmeal enough that this could save us some money which is great! The flavor was good but next time I make it I plan to leave out the cardamom (I think that was the flavor my 7 year old was not thrilled with). Oh another thing I like about this recipe is I have been watching my weight so this gives me the option of a nice quick and easy breakfast and I can put as little or as much of the mix in as I like. I don't have a choice with the packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent substitute for the store bought and way more economical. I did cut back on the confectionary sugar by half, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My husband goes through 4 packets of the storebought instant at a time. And my 3 yr old is quickly gaining on him. This is a wonderful recipe. Tastes like a cross between cinnamon spice and maple brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States