Instant Millionaire Pie for Diabetics Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is so quick and easy to make. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Added bananas, we cook for 150 Church members every Wednesday night and I always make Diabetic desserts, this is by far the favorite one so far. I also top with strawberries and kiwi, kiwi gives a little bit of tartness to this winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Nancy, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smellymel
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Doubled the pudding mix, used a reduced fat/sugar graham crust & fat free whipped topping. Added cut up pieces of grape to the mix. Garnished with mandarin oranges, strawberries & fat free whipped topping. Im NOT a diabetic and can clearly tell something is missing. My father who IS a diabetic, fell in love with it. He could not tell anything was missing. I drilled him about the funny 'sugar-free' diet-y after taste that I noticed and he said he didnt notice or care. Compared to the amount of sugar he can have and usually gets, this was perfect for him. I do not recommend this for STRICT diabetics as the crust, fruit, etc. has some form of something bad like a couple of the other complaining reviews have pointed out. But for those that need to cut back, this is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smellymel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I added pecans for a great twist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Moran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
My biggest problem was calling this pie a "diabetic" pie. I wouldn't call it that just because of the sugar free pudding mix. This couldn't even be called "sugar free" If you've never prepared meals for a diabetic be very careful and understand the power of carbs. Especially Simple carbs. The carbs in this recipe aren't exactly the most diabetic friendly along with the refined sugar. If this were served after a meal which already had carbs in it you risk jacking up their blood sugar levels beyond their target numbers after a meal. They need to know in advance all the carbs for an entire meal including a dessert so they can decide how much insulin they need if they are doing an Insulin:Carb ratio shot before meals. If you really want to reduce this to a diabetic friendly pie take the time to find a low carb sugar free crust. There are shortbreads out there for that. Non fat or 2% milk and sugar free whipped topping. Add some splenda in the whipped topping for taste. Be very careul with canned fruits. Make sure no sugar has been added. Pineapple is a high glycemic fruit. Going with strawberrys may be better. The sugar free vanilla is fine. We have a diabetic in our family and we are picky about Carb counting. If you go with this recipe as written the milk, whipped topping and gram crackers could easily skyrocket someones blood sugar to scary numbers depending on how they respond to simple carbs. Be very careful serving this in between meals as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made the recipe as directed. Bought Jell-o Brand sugar free pudding and the personal sized pie crusts and I think, lite cool whip. If you go the personal pie crust route, this recipe makes more filling than for the six crusts that come in a package, buy two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this recipe for my mom and sister for our big family Christmas party. Lots of them tried it and really liked it. They were surprised at just how good it was. I have now given the recipes to several of them. I did use the suggestions made by another reviewer and used 2 boxes of the pudding mix, less of the pecans, and I used 1 1/2 cups of 1% milk. I will be making the recipe again for sure even for those like me who want something sweet but with fewre calories. Thank you for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I don't really think this is good for diabetics. If you put fresh fruit in it, it helps. Canned pineapple offers little nutritional value in terms of enzymes and vitamins. It's better with blackberries, raspberries, kiwi, or even a few slices of banana. The crust is also all sugar, essentially as its refined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmm thats good

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perugia, Umbria, Italy
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Made this for my diabetic mom at Thanksgiving...it was good, but had a bit of a "whang", if you will. As far as diabetic recipes go, though, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I wanted to make this for Thanksgiving, but after reading the reviews I realized that I needed to get the firmness perfected. It took 4 attempts, and realized that it works better with name brand ingredients. I used two boxes of Jello brand pudding that was sugar free and fat free. Also used 1 1/2 cups of 2% milk instead of 1 cup. Used cool whip brand Lite, and cut the pecans down to 1/2 cup because of the calories. It came out great. So for 1/8 of a slice it now has 177 calories, 11 g. sugar, 10 g. fat, 4 g. sat. fat, 17 g. carb's. Now I have the perfect desert-THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States