Instant Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I must have measured inaccurately because I seemed to have a dry result. I let them boil for 3 minutes and then added the oatmeal mixture. Maybe I let them boil for 1 minute too long? I could barely get them to stay together due to the lack of sauce. They did taste delicious, but was not fit to present to people. I think i will try it again and see if they turn out better with less boiling time. I also thought the chocolate was faint, so I may increase it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Hubs wanted no bake cookies and so he and I made these today. We used Spelenda instead of sugar . . .and it appears that was a mistake. We had to increase the butter to 1 cup but didn't realize that until we'd started mixing everything together so I had to melt 1/2 cup of butter in the microwave and then add it in with the rest of the mix. It worked out okay in the end, but since subbing Splenda for sugar is the only change we made (other than adding a spoonful of peanut butter--just remembered that too!), I have to assume that was the difference. So, it worked, but I'd do 1 cup of butter if you sub all Splenda. Sugar must be heavier or something and make a larger amount of syrup. Hubs loved them anyway, and insisted on huge cookies--I pulled out the medium cookie scoop and he protested so the ice cream scoop is what we used instead. He's happy, so I'm happy. Recipe worked great for what he wanted. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
They were a bit too gooey. Fall apart in your hand, a bit messy. I wasn't crazy about the flavor either. They're a bit too sweet for me. But then again, it is a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A 4 star for the 'concept'. I changed this, followed other reviewer's suggestions about the 3 minute continuous boil, and my cookies turned out quite well. Soft, but not 'gooey'. I did a half batch. I used 4 packets of Cookies and Cream Quaker Instant Oatmeal, 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract, a tiny pinch of sea salt, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, 1 cup of Splenda white sugar, 1/4 cup fat free vanilla yogurt (I had no milk at home), 1/4 cup of unsalted butter, and 1 TBSP Cocoa powder. I feel that as the instant oatmeal's already quite sweet, the white sugar could be halved. Also, the cocoa could be halved as well, but these are sweet and chocolately. Such an easy recipe to make... I really like that they turned out fantastic with fat free vanilla yogurt instead of the evaporated milk as well. Remember to stir stir stir for 3 minutes your sugar, yogurt (or milk if you follow recipe directions on site), butter and cocoa at boiling point as not to allow it to burn. Definitely a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I needed a quick snack for an impromptu snow tubing trip, and found I had all the ingredients for this recipe. While it is tasty, I do have to agree with the others who found it still very gooey and sticky after setting for some time. I followed the recipe, using half cinnamon roll, half plain oatmeal, about 1.5 cups of sugar and I boiled the chocolate mixture for a good three minutes until it was nice and fudgey. Then I popped the little darlings into the freezer. They set up well, so I thought all was well, but removing one from the tray, they are very sticky. Really a cross between candy and a cookie, as someone else mentioned. Very nice flavor, but next time I'll bake if I want a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very yummy & very easy! I let the mixture boil for 3 minutes and once it was mixed with the oats and made into cookies they set in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
They ended up a little goopy, but delicious. I'd add a splash more oats to the recipe to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this with 3 3/4 cups oats, brown sugar and 2Tbl cinnamon. No nuts or coca though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This recipe turns out perfect everytime. I added half a cup of peanut butter to the chocolate mixture and let it boil for 3 solid minutes and they turn out perfect every time. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KURGYD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
ugh - clumps of oatmeal held together by butter. I can't consider these "cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States