Instant Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
i made these cookies with apple cinnamon instant oatmeal, and they were wonderful. DON"T FORGET: let the chocolate, sugar, and butter BOIL for about 3 minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC Cooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Quick and easy. BIG HINT: Let the syrup mixture boil (and I mean rolling boil) for 3 minutes. This will let the syrup turn into a fudgy binding that WILL set up in the fridge. Just make sure it doesn't boil over. If you do that, they will set perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These are fantastic. So delicious! I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used regular cow's milk instead. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These are frighteningly addicting! Needed to use up some evaporated milk and came across this recipe. Accidentally skipped the vanilla and did 2 scant cups of sugar. I let it boil for a couple minutes to be sure the sugar dissolved, stirring constantly. I dropped these onto wax paper on cookie sheets and made them pretty small and let them set up in the freezer for about 15 minutes and they were perfect! Better go eat my tenth one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Since I don't like peanut butter and my husband and kids don't like coconut, I thought this recipe was a good option. As I started making a batch, I realized that I didn't have any cocoa powder. I'm not a chocoholic, so I simply made this batch without any cocoa. In addition to not using the cocoa powder, I decreased the sugar to just 1 1/2 cups, and added the salt and vanilla to the butter/milk/sugar mixture. I also omitted the nuts and added another cup of oats. I had read previous reviews that indicated their cookies were gooey and didn't set up, hence substituting the additional oats for the nuts. I also let the liquid mixture boil for two minutes. DO NOT OVERBOIL, THOUGH! Lastly, because my kids love chocolate, I sprinkled mini M&Ms on the tops of the cookies. Do NOT stir the M&Ms into the hot mixture, they will melt. I did need to push the mini M&Ms into the cookies a little bit so that they wouldn't fall to the base of the cookies. All in all, I think my version is tasty and colorful. You can use certain color M&Ms for holidays and use school colors for bake sales and sporting events. One last hint. My kids went wild when they saw the finished product, but I needed the cookies to cool off. When they weren't looking, I simply placed my wax paper lined cookie sheet (with the cooling cookies) into our (cold) oven and set the timer for 30 minutes. I found this to be a great way to hide the temptation until the cookies were truly ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
never make these if the humidity is high or if it is raining. they will never set--will always be sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I wanted to make these because I had some at a babyshower recently and they were so good. I made this recipe today and they didn't quite turn out right. The cookies never "set" so I had to throw all 3 dozen away. They turned out sticky and gooey and they weren't very chocolatey. My daughter wanted one, so I let her have one even though they never set. I don't know if I did some thing wrong, but I wouldn't probably make them again. On the plus side they were very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This recipe turns out perfect everytime. I added half a cup of peanut butter to the chocolate mixture and let it boil for 3 solid minutes and they turn out perfect every time. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KURGYD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I agree with other reviewers that this recipe has a delicious flavor. However, yes, not so instant. It took a long while for these puppies to set. I put them in the freezer for a while (30+ min), and they were still rather syrup-y and bendable. Then I left them on the counter overnight, and they are much harder this morning. I'd say that they are really more like oatmeal candies than cookies. All in all, a tasty experiment, but I'll probably just bake oatmeal cookies next time I have a hankering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This recipe tastes delightful!! And it is incredibly fast and easy. Mine were a bit gooey too but I think if I would have made the cookies smaller (maybe 1 in. diameter?) that would have improved. I will try this recipe again for sure and attempt to perhaps either use more oats by 1/2 a cup or so or maybe boil it a bit longer. (I boiled them for a little under a minute to try to insure right texture.) I didn't put the nuts in but I imagine that would help a little too. They taste FANTASTIC though! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States