Instant Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
never make these if the humidity is high or if it is raining. they will never set--will always be sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
i made these cookies with apple cinnamon instant oatmeal, and they were wonderful. DON"T FORGET: let the chocolate, sugar, and butter BOIL for about 3 minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC Cooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Quick and easy. BIG HINT: Let the syrup mixture boil (and I mean rolling boil) for 3 minutes. This will let the syrup turn into a fudgy binding that WILL set up in the fridge. Just make sure it doesn't boil over. If you do that, they will set perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I also found this recipe to be too runny. But it was fine when you let the mixture set for about an hour. So I would say they are not so instant. I also added some coconut to the mixture and they taste fantastic! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Since I don't like peanut butter and my husband and kids don't like coconut, I thought this recipe was a good option. As I started making a batch, I realized that I didn't have any cocoa powder. I'm not a chocoholic, so I simply made this batch without any cocoa. In addition to not using the cocoa powder, I decreased the sugar to just 1 1/2 cups, and added the salt and vanilla to the butter/milk/sugar mixture. I also omitted the nuts and added another cup of oats. I had read previous reviews that indicated their cookies were gooey and didn't set up, hence substituting the additional oats for the nuts. I also let the liquid mixture boil for two minutes. DO NOT OVERBOIL, THOUGH! Lastly, because my kids love chocolate, I sprinkled mini M&Ms on the tops of the cookies. Do NOT stir the M&Ms into the hot mixture, they will melt. I did need to push the mini M&Ms into the cookies a little bit so that they wouldn't fall to the base of the cookies. All in all, I think my version is tasty and colorful. You can use certain color M&Ms for holidays and use school colors for bake sales and sporting events. One last hint. My kids went wild when they saw the finished product, but I needed the cookies to cool off. When they weren't looking, I simply placed my wax paper lined cookie sheet (with the cooling cookies) into our (cold) oven and set the timer for 30 minutes. I found this to be a great way to hide the temptation until the cookies were truly ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These are fantastic. So delicious! I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used regular cow's milk instead. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
AH HA! Oatmeal cleverly disguised in chocolate! My youngest daughter "hates" oatmeal, I had her read the recipe while she was licking the spoon. I had no problems with the cookies setting up, instead of nuts, I added 1 cup of semi-sweet chips with the oatmeal. They melted right away into the mixture, but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I loved these!!! I halved the recipe, did not use the pecans and used fat-free evaporated milk, and they still came out great. The other thing I changed was that I added the salt directly to the milk mixture (I just thought it would mix better that way), and the vanilla also (for the same reason), but I added it after I removed it from the heat. I let it boil for a good minute and half, and after I mixed in the oats (I used instant) I also added semi-sweet chocolate chips, 'cause I'm a chocoholic;) They set up great for me, and I will certainly make again, thank you for these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
The cookies were definitely good! I suggest a low boil for 1 minute. This will cook the sugar down a bit more and help solidify the cookies. Also, putting them in the fridge for about a 1/2 hour helps as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Yummy! T These are just like the one's my mom made when I was little because they don't contain peanut butter, which we both hate. And, just like when I was little, I can't wait for them to cool... I'm digging in even before they've hardened!! My kids love them, too! Thanks for letting me continue the tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States