Instant Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These are GREAT!!!! I have been making 2 batches. One regular and one with chunky or creamy peanut butter and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Konawa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I had to 'make' my own evaporated milk by putting 8 ounces in a saute pan and reducing to 4. I followed TC McCooke's advise and let the liquid boil for 3 minutes. Tasted great, scarily simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Wonderful, easy recipe! We absolutely can't use peanut butter because of a peanut allergy, but they turned out absolutely wonderful! We also eliminated the nuts but followed the recipe otherwise to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Photo by C Weber
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This mixture for me was less like cookies and more like the texture of krispy rice treats or granola bars. It was setting up so fast I had to stop making drop cookies and simply pressed the mixture into a glass pan lined with wax paper. Then I cut them into squares. Still delicious, yummy and easy to make. I did not experience any runnyness or problems setting up the cookies. Maybe it was the fact that I substituted half the sugar for Splenda or that I used whipped butter substitute spread. Could be the fact that I live in the desert in Arizona. Can't say, but I definitely will make this recipe again! Cookies or squares, doesn't matter. I took some to my Mother and she was delighted with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Weber
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Love this! Boiling the mixture is a must, and next time I plan on throwing a little bit of peanut butter in there too, it's almost begging for it. What a texture treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
My family has made these cookies for years. Back beyond my great grandmother, we dont use evaporated milk, no nuts but the use of peanut butter is a MUST.You MUST MUST MUST boil the mixture for 3 to 4 minutes. Then they will set up. We make them without the cocoa as well and just have peanut butter ones. We also do not use quick oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Very yummy. My Hubby likes them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I agree with other reviewers that this recipe has a delicious flavor. However, yes, not so instant. It took a long while for these puppies to set. I put them in the freezer for a while (30+ min), and they were still rather syrup-y and bendable. Then I left them on the counter overnight, and they are much harder this morning. I'd say that they are really more like oatmeal candies than cookies. All in all, a tasty experiment, but I'll probably just bake oatmeal cookies next time I have a hankering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
never make these if the humidity is high or if it is raining. they will never set--will always be sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
i made these cookies with apple cinnamon instant oatmeal, and they were wonderful. DON"T FORGET: let the chocolate, sugar, and butter BOIL for about 3 minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC Cooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States