Instant Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I wanted to make these because I had some at a babyshower recently and they were so good. I made this recipe today and they didn't quite turn out right. The cookies never "set" so I had to throw all 3 dozen away. They turned out sticky and gooey and they weren't very chocolatey. My daughter wanted one, so I let her have one even though they never set. I don't know if I did some thing wrong, but I wouldn't probably make them again. On the plus side they were very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I make this recipe all the time and my children love them.I give away as christmas gifts and everyone in my family loves them as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I measured everything correctly, and mine never set either. They taste fine, but are too gooey too eat. I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This recipe tastes delightful!! And it is incredibly fast and easy. Mine were a bit gooey too but I think if I would have made the cookies smaller (maybe 1 in. diameter?) that would have improved. I will try this recipe again for sure and attempt to perhaps either use more oats by 1/2 a cup or so or maybe boil it a bit longer. (I boiled them for a little under a minute to try to insure right texture.) I didn't put the nuts in but I imagine that would help a little too. They taste FANTASTIC though! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
These are just like the ones my Mom made for me as a kid. I ommitted the optional pecans. Very easy and yummy. Didn't last a day in our house of 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I LOVE these cookies! They've been my favorite for 15-20 years!! If they come out too gooey from not cooking them the right amount of time, just eat them with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
i noticed that there was a lot of sugar in the recipe so i reduced the amount and it still came out tasting like pure sugar. It was easy, but not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Absolutely perfect! Couldn't be easier or more rewarding, my whole family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These are frighteningly addicting! Needed to use up some evaporated milk and came across this recipe. Accidentally skipped the vanilla and did 2 scant cups of sugar. I let it boil for a couple minutes to be sure the sugar dissolved, stirring constantly. I dropped these onto wax paper on cookie sheets and made them pretty small and let them set up in the freezer for about 15 minutes and they were perfect! Better go eat my tenth one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
good taste, but also did not firm up for me. I took half the receipe and added shredded coconut and still not firm, but tastier-sort of a german chocolate cookie. Wonder if it could be the humity? They are still in the fridge/freezer.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States