Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Its a good recipe, however I think a 14 ounce can of crushed tomatoes would have been lots. I didn't have ziti on hand so I used rotini and it worked fine. I also skipped the nutmeg and added some extra garlic, basil and pepper to the cheese mixture along with tsome fresh grated parmesan cheese. I also topped the dish with more mozerella and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I followed the recipe alomst exactly, except my package of noodles was a couple ounces larger, but the nutmeg taste completely overwhelmed the whole taste. It took me about 45 minutees to bake as and like another reviewer, I felt something was lacking, perhaps another kind of cheese added would imporve the texture. I really wanted to like this one too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This is a great idea if you don't have manicotti on-hand, or don't want to stuff them. I used bow ties instead of ziti because that's what we had in the pantry, but almost any kind of small pasta should work. To spice up the sauce, add 1/2 teaspoon ground marjoram, 1/2 teaspoon ground thyme, 1 teaspoon dried oregano, 1 bay leaf, 1/2 teaspoon sugar, 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper, and 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more to taste). I used 1 teaspoon salt instead of 1/2 teaspoon. Alternatively, you can add about 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning instead of the basil, marjoram, thyme, and oregano (more or less to taste). Add 1 small can mushrooms to the sauce. Remove the bay leaf before assembling. Top the entire dish with a sprinkle of grated mozzarella cheese about ten minutes before it's ready. Add grated parmesan cheese on top after plated. Serve with caesar salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This is one of my favorite recipes. I use a jar of my father's canned tomatoes, and it's just perfect. This dish tastes even better the next day, so it would be a great dish to make ahead & freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was pretty good. I added sausage to the sauce, it tasted as though it was missing something though??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
Two of my three kids really loved this recipe! I think overall this is a really good recipe. If you like manacotti...this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This was great! I made a few changes by using spiral noodles, low-fat cottage cheese and Italian flavored diced tomatoes. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
i love this recipe! i cook it for valentine's day, my birthday, and my anniversary - all special occasions. i substitute whey-less cottage cheese for the ricotta cheese. this is a great vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
We love this recipie! We fixed the amount of sauce by adding about a pound of ground beef. You could also try turkey or sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
It was great! The children really liked it. I'm going to make it again. (I agree with the others...less sauce and more time to cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States