Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a good basic recipe. I used jarred sauce as well, works great and saves time. I too go heavy on garlic as our family loves it. The first time I made this I noticed the cheese was too thick to spread so I mixed in enough half and half to make it more spreadable. Makes it soooo yummy too!! I also use 1 1/2 the mozz that is called for, we like our Italian foods cheesy : ). I do use the nutmeg and the pepper though only about 3/4 what is called for. We like the nutmeg flavor in the alfredo sauces so this gives us a "best of both worlds" flavor. This has routinely become a favorite in our house with the changes I've noted. I think I'm going to try adding the spinach and other veggies next time and see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil to saute the veggies. I didn't have a can of crushed tomatoes, so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and mashed them with a potato masher in the pot. I used a tsp of italian seasoning and a dash of pepper in the sauce in addition to the basil and salt. I also added a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the sauce. Like others, I was wary of a tsp of nutmeg and used only a half teaspoon in the filling. It took about 40 minutes to bake. Having said all that, the end product was YUMMY!!!! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Needs more salt than the recipe calls for, but otherwise, it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Not a big hit at my house. Bland. Will not fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was a good recipe. I should have skipped the nutmeg, which I didn't read the other reviews until after I made it. I would have been much better without the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used cottage cheese because that is what I had on hand, and I took other's suggestions and used canned sauce for ease of making it. Also ommitted the nutmeg (not a fan of it) and we are garlic fans, so in went the garlic. LOVED IT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I substituted cottage cheese for ricotta, and added some garlic to the cheese mixture. I also used jarred tomato basil pasta sauce and added fresh spinach. YUM! A big hit, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Used this as a base recipe and threw in a lot more veggies: two zucchini, diced tomatoes, and some fresh spinach. My kid ate it without picking out the vegetables, so I consider that a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was good but I would only use half of the nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States