Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil to saute the veggies. I didn't have a can of crushed tomatoes, so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and mashed them with a potato masher in the pot. I used a tsp of italian seasoning and a dash of pepper in the sauce in addition to the basil and salt. I also added a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the sauce. Like others, I was wary of a tsp of nutmeg and used only a half teaspoon in the filling. It took about 40 minutes to bake. Having said all that, the end product was YUMMY!!!! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Needs more salt than the recipe calls for, but otherwise, it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Not a big hit at my house. Bland. Will not fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was a good recipe. I should have skipped the nutmeg, which I didn't read the other reviews until after I made it. I would have been much better without the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used cottage cheese because that is what I had on hand, and I took other's suggestions and used canned sauce for ease of making it. Also ommitted the nutmeg (not a fan of it) and we are garlic fans, so in went the garlic. LOVED IT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I substituted cottage cheese for ricotta, and added some garlic to the cheese mixture. I also used jarred tomato basil pasta sauce and added fresh spinach. YUM! A big hit, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Used this as a base recipe and threw in a lot more veggies: two zucchini, diced tomatoes, and some fresh spinach. My kid ate it without picking out the vegetables, so I consider that a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was good but I would only use half of the nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
We loved it! I have 2 questions: why cook the pasta? not necessary just add about 15 minutes to the baking time and why nutmeg? I left it out. So, I'm giving it 5 stars even though I changed it a bit by adding crumbled turkey Italian sausage and chopped spinach. This reminded me of lasagne but easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States