Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I made this last night as per the recipe with the only change being I added 1# hamburger meat and used small, short tube macaroni which I did cook beforehand, and 20 minutes was enough time for the casserole to heat through. I agree with CharityBoo it was rather bland. My family hardly made a dent in it. If I make it again, I'll try ZChef's suggestions to spice up the sauce which was just enough. Can't understand why some say it makes too much sauce unless they didn't measure the noodles by weight but by a measuring cup. It does make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
In Brooklyn and the Bronx they called this 'baked ziti'. In Long Island my mother called it 'lazy lasagna'. It is easy to improvise, and extra black pepper and parsley/oregano in the ricotta mix is good. I also agree with the suggestion that using a little extra sauce eliminates the need to cook the pasta before hand... it bakes to a perfect al dente. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Add some fresh garted parmesean cheese to the ricotta and motz. cheese combo...Can also add some thawed, well drained spinach to that mix...Added some fresh mushrooms and only added 1/2 tsp nutmeg...Can be tweaked so many ways, but this is a very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Here is something to make that recipe even faster and less messy. I don't cook any pasta that is going into a crockpot or oven. Make sure you have enough sauce and it will cook itself. I make the same thing in a crockpot, but use rigitoni and cook it on low for at least 4 hours depending on how soft you like your macaroni. Stir the crockpot after two hours to make sure that all the pasta is covered. You can add cooked ground beef or loose sausage to your sauce for more flavor and skip the nutmeg. Make enough extra sauce to add when served if you want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I made this just as, and almost everyone, but the two-year-old grandson, really liked it and came back for seconds. I will make this recipe again and try it with some type of meat, as suggested, sometime. Thanks for a really good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I love, love, love this recipe. I've made it several times, and my husband, who thinks that all meals should include meat, raves about it. Even my finicky mother-in-law, who likes to believe she's the only one in the family who can cook, couldn't say anything bad about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Used whole wheat pasta and powdered garlic and canned spagetti sauce - half sundried tomato alfredo and half 4 cheese. Also added a little milk, lemon juice and some feta cheese to the cheese. Chopped up some spinach and cooked it with the onions, too. Very yummy, I had seconds, and will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROKENCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe -- wonderful manicotti flavor. I used penne pasta -- no problem, and skipped the nutmeg. I did bake 45 mins as others suggested. Finally: Two great tips ... Skip Step 2 and just use jar, chunky spaghetti sauce. Makes it much faster. I was a little short on ricotta, so I just added sour cream to make the amount called for. This was a great recipe for when I needed to do a big grocery shop the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Its a good recipe, however I think a 14 ounce can of crushed tomatoes would have been lots. I didn't have ziti on hand so I used rotini and it worked fine. I also skipped the nutmeg and added some extra garlic, basil and pepper to the cheese mixture along with tsome fresh grated parmesan cheese. I also topped the dish with more mozerella and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I followed the recipe alomst exactly, except my package of noodles was a couple ounces larger, but the nutmeg taste completely overwhelmed the whole taste. It took me about 45 minutees to bake as and like another reviewer, I felt something was lacking, perhaps another kind of cheese added would imporve the texture. I really wanted to like this one too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States