Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I cooked the pasta (penne) al dente and added Italian seasoning to the sauce as recommended by another reviewer. I also added chopped zuchini to the sauce. Additionally, I cooked a package (about 1.25#) sweet Italian turkey sausage, in the casings and then sliced it on the diagonal and added it as a layer after the cheese layer (omitted the nutmeg). My 15 month old and I really enjoyed it. My husband couldn't get past the name and how it is NOT like manicotti. I should have told him it was a pasta bake and left it as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a good basic recipe. I used jarred sauce as well, works great and saves time. I too go heavy on garlic as our family loves it. The first time I made this I noticed the cheese was too thick to spread so I mixed in enough half and half to make it more spreadable. Makes it soooo yummy too!! I also use 1 1/2 the mozz that is called for, we like our Italian foods cheesy : ). I do use the nutmeg and the pepper though only about 3/4 what is called for. We like the nutmeg flavor in the alfredo sauces so this gives us a "best of both worlds" flavor. This has routinely become a favorite in our house with the changes I've noted. I think I'm going to try adding the spinach and other veggies next time and see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil to saute the veggies. I didn't have a can of crushed tomatoes, so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and mashed them with a potato masher in the pot. I used a tsp of italian seasoning and a dash of pepper in the sauce in addition to the basil and salt. I also added a bit of sugar to cut the acidity of the sauce. Like others, I was wary of a tsp of nutmeg and used only a half teaspoon in the filling. It took about 40 minutes to bake. Having said all that, the end product was YUMMY!!!! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Needs more salt than the recipe calls for, but otherwise, it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Not a big hit at my house. Bland. Will not fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was a good recipe. I should have skipped the nutmeg, which I didn't read the other reviews until after I made it. I would have been much better without the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used cottage cheese because that is what I had on hand, and I took other's suggestions and used canned sauce for ease of making it. Also ommitted the nutmeg (not a fan of it) and we are garlic fans, so in went the garlic. LOVED IT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I substituted cottage cheese for ricotta, and added some garlic to the cheese mixture. I also used jarred tomato basil pasta sauce and added fresh spinach. YUM! A big hit, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Used this as a base recipe and threw in a lot more veggies: two zucchini, diced tomatoes, and some fresh spinach. My kid ate it without picking out the vegetables, so I consider that a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was good but I would only use half of the nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States