Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I've made this several times now and always enjoy it. So much easier than stuffing manicotti shells. This time I used a jar of Roasted Garlic and Parmesan Italian sauce- and sprinkled about 1/2 cup of mozzarella on top before popping in the oven. I always use cottage cheese instead of ricotta, but drain it well in a colander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Very Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Exremly bland. Had absolutely no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Used 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Flavoring of nutmeg was questionable. Might try without next time. Didn't have enough ricotta cheese. Made up difference with sour cream and cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I thought this was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This will be a regular at my house. I made a few changes but I appreciate the basic idea of this recipe. I added ground turkey, which I browned with the garlic & onion. I also added extra seasonings to the tomato sauce: 1/2 tsp each Italian seasoning & fennel. To the cheese mixture I added 1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley. I topped the whole thing off with more mozzarella. I ended up using 12 oz of noodles, which I won't do next time - it was a little on the dry side. Also, I will cut the nutmeg in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is good, and very simple. I found the sauce a bit strong, and the nutmeg should be cut to 1/2 tsp. Even so, it was a winner with both my kids and my mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe was so easy to make, and I had all the ingredients on hand! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and an extra clove of garlic. I thought a whole teaspoon of nutmeg was a bit much so I only used about half that. It turned out great. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I cooked the pasta (penne) al dente and added Italian seasoning to the sauce as recommended by another reviewer. I also added chopped zuchini to the sauce. Additionally, I cooked a package (about 1.25#) sweet Italian turkey sausage, in the casings and then sliced it on the diagonal and added it as a layer after the cheese layer (omitted the nutmeg). My 15 month old and I really enjoyed it. My husband couldn't get past the name and how it is NOT like manicotti. I should have told him it was a pasta bake and left it as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States