Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I've made this several times now and always enjoy it. So much easier than stuffing manicotti shells. This time I used a jar of Roasted Garlic and Parmesan Italian sauce- and sprinkled about 1/2 cup of mozzarella on top before popping in the oven. I always use cottage cheese instead of ricotta, but drain it well in a colander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Very Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Exremly bland. Had absolutely no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Used 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Flavoring of nutmeg was questionable. Might try without next time. Didn't have enough ricotta cheese. Made up difference with sour cream and cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I thought this was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This will be a regular at my house. I made a few changes but I appreciate the basic idea of this recipe. I added ground turkey, which I browned with the garlic & onion. I also added extra seasonings to the tomato sauce: 1/2 tsp each Italian seasoning & fennel. To the cheese mixture I added 1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley. I topped the whole thing off with more mozzarella. I ended up using 12 oz of noodles, which I won't do next time - it was a little on the dry side. Also, I will cut the nutmeg in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is good, and very simple. I found the sauce a bit strong, and the nutmeg should be cut to 1/2 tsp. Even so, it was a winner with both my kids and my mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe was so easy to make, and I had all the ingredients on hand! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and an extra clove of garlic. I thought a whole teaspoon of nutmeg was a bit much so I only used about half that. It turned out great. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I cooked the pasta (penne) al dente and added Italian seasoning to the sauce as recommended by another reviewer. I also added chopped zuchini to the sauce. Additionally, I cooked a package (about 1.25#) sweet Italian turkey sausage, in the casings and then sliced it on the diagonal and added it as a layer after the cheese layer (omitted the nutmeg). My 15 month old and I really enjoyed it. My husband couldn't get past the name and how it is NOT like manicotti. I should have told him it was a pasta bake and left it as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States