Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Made grilled cheese like this by accident once upon a time when I tried to over-stuff the sammy w/ cheese and half of it fell back out...it was delicious and now we make them like this on purpose :) delish! The crunch from the cheese on the outside is a wonderful contrast to the gooey inside - try it! To Carla H-keep the rude comments to yourself dear. As another reviewer mentioned, those of us who have been cooking for years may take the basics for granted but there are folks with little to no experience. Thank you Chef John for taking the time to share this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Just finished making these and they were awesome. I don't own a non stick skillet so I smeared a tiny bit of olive oil (using a paper towel) onto my warmed stainless steel pan then melted the butter ... using only medium heat on my electric glass top stove. Followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. Having made grilled cheese sandwiches for the last 48 years - this recipe proves you CAN teach old dogs new tricks! Thanks Chef John for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Genius! I never thought to add cheese to the outside so that the entire sandwich is browned cheese, bite after bite. Previously, whenever I would make grilled cheese, I'd let some cheese hang off the edge of the sandwich to get browned and crisp and always saved that part for the last bite. To the doubters watch the video - it really is the method that makes this sandwich sooo delicious. Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Thanks Chef John! I made this by accident for my daughter once and now we make grilled cheese like this all the time. I love your comment about the non-nutritional white bread. You can even get a little more un-nutrional and use a good ole American cheese slice in the middle. Cheddar on the outside all the way though! And I applaud you for sharing what others consider 'simple' recipes. There are people out there who have no idea how to cook and I think those of us who can (or in my case think I can) take it for granted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
fried cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this sandwich for lunch yesterday, with my last two slices of white bread and it was delicious. I bought more bread and plan on making another grilled cheese sandwich this afternoon, after I mow my lawn. Great sandwich! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was an extra delish cheesy experience for the comfort food crew. Having the browned cheese with the gooey cheese and the buttery crispy bread, is the perfect meal for any time of the day, but use an especially non stick pan, and if not up the butter if you want the cheese to stay intact. We use all sorts of different cheese, like of course American, Swiss, Pepperocini cheese, Fresh Mozzarella, and the list continues. Sometimes we add fresh tomato, but season first with salt and pepper, or ham, or bacon. I especially like Baby Swiss with Dijon mustard, and crispy pickles chips. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've made this sandwich for many years now. It started out using a rye bread with air holes in it, the cheese melted out by accident, which led to adding some cheese on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boucher-McCall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Love Chef John!! Just awesome all the way around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States