Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was tasty but I thought it needed something more substantial. After trying a bowl of it, I cooked a cup of rice and added it to the remaining chili. Next time I will add a cup of uncooked rice to the chili and add more liquid so the rice cooks in the chili. I garnished with avocado slices which was a nice touch. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I enjoy this recape and so does my family! I actually place all ingredients in the crock pot minus the oil and put on low for about 5 hours. I also add 2 cans of beans depending on my mood and the amount of people I am feeding. It's super easy to adjust for more people and leftovers freeze well. Grandpa G would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great one for when time is limited. Personally I reccomend doubling up the mushrooms and adding a variety of chillies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Eveleigh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
You never miss what's missing! (the meat) I have to double batch the recipe for my large crew. I use dark and light kidney beans and pintos. I also add Rotel tomatoes with green chilies for an extra kick of flavor. So glad i found this recipe. It's become a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by filigree
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very good and easy for someone who wants to start cooking more but needs to start somewhere first. I added some crumbled and cooked Lightlife Smart Ground (vegan ground beef alternative) to this as well as a little cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by filigree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe was pretty good, however, I made a few changes. I left out the celery and corn and added two small chorizo links (casings removed. making it decidedly non-vegetarian) - I was mainly trying to adapt ingredients that I already had, rather than go out and get more! Anyway, it was quite flavorful and filling. In the future, I would probably also leave out the mushrooms, such an odd addition to a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awampler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
loved it! I added a can of mild green chili's. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLABELLATUNCW

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah19
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Fantastic! I added a can of spicy chi beans, added an extra tsp of chili powder, and replaced the green pepper with yellow. I never follow a recipe! It's a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I added a 10 oz can of tomatoes with diced green chilies and a little spicy V-8 juice and it turned out great. There's no meat in this recipe and you don't miss it with all the wonderful veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This chilli turned out delicious, even though I was missing some of the spices- I decided to try it anyways because it was so simple! I followed the recipe but did not have oregano, cumin, or basil on hand, so doubled the amount of chilli powder. I added 1 can kidney (drained), 1 can mixed beans (drained) & 1 can drained corn. I like my chilli thick so I held off on the brine. The tomatoes I used were canned/diced and had basil and oregano seasoning so those must have done the trick for the remaining spices! I added didn't add celery or mushrooms because i'm not crazy about those flavors in chilli. Also used 7 cloves of garlic as opposed to 3 because I love the taste! Mmm, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States