Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is the best chili recipe I've made, our family's favorite. I usually put use 2 cans of beans though, one black bean and one kidney. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Love this chili! This is now my new favorite veggie chili recipe. My changes: I use only 1 tsp. of the chili powder, and it is still very spicy! Also, I drained the canned veggies...gives it a chunkier texture that my family loves. The mushrooms are a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Great recipe--My husband, a total meat and bread type, is soooo surprised with this dish! Served to kids with rice and cheese and sour cream. I did add more chili powder and less cumin. I also left out the red bell pepper (didn't want it too sweet) and celery (didn't have). TIP--those who found it too soupy can add in several scoops of spicy refried beans (vegetarian) to help thicken it up--heat it for about 5 minutes after you add it and just before serving it to gauge how much you want. Also, you can deglaze the pan with a few ounces of beer, wine, veg. or chicken stock before adding the tomatoes, etc. Great and flexible recipe--even for the cooking impaired. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I still prefer chili with meat but this was a nice change of pace. I took previous reviewers' suggestions and only put 1 tsp. of cumin, but doubled the amount of chili powder and it tasted perfect. I sauted the onions, carrots and garlic first, then transfered everything to a slow cooker and cooked for about 7 hrs. I used "baby" portabello mushrooms and lessened the amount of corn. Use low-salt or no-salt ingredients where you can. Thanks Tianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
For color and variety I add a couple of cans of different beans - chickpea, garbanzo, red kidney, etc. I usually skip the mushrooms for personal preference, but otherwise stick to this recipe. I would never have imagined that I would prefer veggie chili over a traditional con carne, but I think this recipe has converted me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
This recipe was a bit on the bland side. Adding salt, cutting the cumin down to about 1 tsp., and adding an extra tbsp. of chili powder would make it A LOT tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I love this chili and make it all fall/winter. I usually up the garlic to 5 or 6 cloves, leave out the celery and mushrooms, and throw a can of chickpeas and black beans in there as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow. I am amazed by how flavourful and hearty this chili is considering how easy it is to prepare. This tops all the ground meat chili I've made in the past. I added romano beans and used yellow pepper instead of red. I also added a little paprika. Definitely a keeper. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Excellent vegetarian chili...I'm making a big batch of it for my Meat Out 2002 Event...I added Yves Veggie ground round and no one would ever guess it was purely vegetarian. Well done! It's a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I loved this recipe!! We are cutting back on our meat intake and this is a very filling recipe with great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States