Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! I omitted the mushrooms, drained and rinsed the beans, and used frozen corn for a much thicker chili (the picture looked like soup to me), and it turned out perfect. Also we added a dash of red pepper and some salt. Add a quick salad to a cup of this chili, and you have a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I'm glad I didn't rate this last night when I put this together because my initial reaction was disappointing. Having let it sit in the fridge overnight, I reheated some for dinner tonight and it improved tremendously! I added black beans and chickpeas, kicked up the spices a bit more and did end up adding mushrooms, too. Flavors need to mellow overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Yum! I used to work in Washington, DC, and would get veggie chili at a little carryout - been looking for a recipe that's similar, and this is a winner! So easy, too! Like most of you, I made some changes to suit our tastes: I like veggie cihli a little soupy, so I added a couple cups of water. I omitted the mushrooms and added one small can of tomato paste; used 1/2 tbsp of garlic powder instead of the cloves; added about 1/2 tsp extra basil, oregano, and cumin to make up for the extra water; added extra celery, too. My canned corn and kidney beans were lower sodium. Very flavorful, even without salt added! I can't wait for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this for a group of heart patients. Most people were hesitant to try this because the title has vegetarian in it. I think they thought it was fullof tofu or something. I started calling it vegetable bean soup after a while and all of a sudden they loved it! I made it in a slow cooker just so I could keep it warm for a long period of time. I left out the mushrooms just because I don't care for them. It was very good and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My husband LOVES this chili and asks me to make it often. You will not miss the meat in this one! I also add 2 or 3 cans of beans (garbanzo, black eyed peas, black beans and great northern). Tastes wonderful and leaves leftovers for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We do not normally eat vegetarian but relatives that do were coming for dinner. Everyone loved it. What I did differently: Left out bell pepper. Used 1 can chili beans and 1 can white beans. Sauteed carrots, onions, celery and garlic together. Sauteed mushrooms until browned. Added a can of green beans and used very little cumin because I don't like it. Used ground chipotle chili pepper so the heat was rather high. Put everything in the crock pot on high for 4 hours. Served with cornbread, grated cheese, sour cream and chopped cilantro. Surprising how good this is. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was so easy, full of flavor, and easily modified. I left out the corn, added organic chili beans, used 15 oz can of fire roasted romatoes, and used mostly chipotle chili powder (in addition to some regular chili powder). My version had a nice smoky flavor that was fantastic, especially with all of the veggies. There isn't much left over, but my guess is this will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We served Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili to our guests last night that came over to help put up and decorate our Christmas tree. The chili was a hit. "Wow, how colorful," and "This has so much flavor," were just a couple of compliments our guests expressed about the chili. Also, my husband thoroughly enjoyed preparing it, especially since it was his first time ever making chili even though he cooks professionally. We kept the recipe as it, except for skipping the celery. We provided our guests the following garnish choices: blue corn tortilla chips, sliced whole wheat baguette, shredded cheese, sour cream, and hot sauce. Our night was a tradition in the making! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was insanely easy and can be modified with whatever you have on hand. I used a can each of pinto and black beans and tomato sauce vs what the recipe called for and threw in spinach too since I had some and topped it with sour cream, it was great! We did not miss the meat at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
1st recipe I made since being diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. My 9 year daughter really enjoyed this as well. My wife wanted me to add some chicken but I made it exactlly as the recipe states. A keeper in my "new cookbook". Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States