Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
really really good! I'm a student, so it was a cheap and easy meal to make and it was YUMMY! I made a few changes (this recipe is pretty flexible I'd say for making substiutions). I added squash and zucchini to the vegetables and used chickpeas and kidney beans. I've pretty much eaten it every day for 5 days....mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes on the site! So easy to do and all of the ingredients are really basic and inexpensive. My notes: I add a can of black beans and to keep it from getting too soupy, I drain all of the canned goods thoroughly except for the tomatoes. Great served with a crusty french loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was very easy and tastey! I ended up adding wayyyy more beans! I didnt have kidney beans so I used I can Chili beans, one can of chick peas, one can of pinto beans, a can of black beans and peas n carrots. I also cooked it for an hour and added corn starch at the end of it to thinken it up a bit. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
fantastic recipie. have made many times, and everytime i want some to freeze, there is none left... Basically i follow the recipie word for word, but i use all low sodium products, lowering the sodium %. I also omit the olive oil and just throw everything in a crockpot overnight. actually makes a great breakfast on a cold morning, lunch and dinner - yeah - i typically live off of it until its gone. its just that good. 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLAPSTICKGYPSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Our family enjoyed this recipe, although we did make a few changes. We substituted diced zucchini for mushrooms, added more chili powder and some sea salt, and used vegetable broth instead of the liquid from the cans of beans (to avoid all the sodium of the canned liquid). We loved the chunky (healthy!) veggies. The flavor was a bit on the bland side for our tastes, but overall this was a good base recipe to use to alter to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe! I replaced the celery with a yellow bell pepper, and replaced the corn with a can of white beans (just personal preferences, not a huge fan of corn or cooked celery) I also halved the cumin and chili powder, glad I did so that the spice/heat didn't overwhelm the dish. The recipe doesn't call for salt,and I found it unneccessary to add any. That's saying a lot because I do have a salt tooth! Turned out very 'juicy' but nowhere as soupy as in the picture. Great, because I like chili less liquidy anyway. Best eaten at least 6 hours after cooking to let flavours meld, and it's even better the next day. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Good. Good. Good! There's nothing to say except that this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this for a vegetarian family in need of meals due to one parent being in the hospital and the other parent just abou living there and the three boys are vegetarian. I wanted a main dish, and man oh man, this was an awesome bill of fare! I will sure make it again for my own family. This was a great tasting non-meat chili! I didn't change a thing except to add a package of McCormicks Chili Seasoning....and bumped up the cumin a bit! Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was okay. I think it would be a lot better if the cumin was halved or left out because it overpowered the dish. Does have potential though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Yummy... fed 10+ people and they all loved it. I doubled the recipe and used shitake mushrooms and a combination of kidney and black beans. I might add a fresh tomato next time, but otherwise - this WAS super easy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States