Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
The Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili is insanely easy! And yummy! Just indeed, use what you have - its all good - with brown rice - even better! Cheers for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Season and add/omit veggies according to your own taste, but this truly is a fantastic chili recipe. My go-to. Always! Try adding veggie burger crumbles and its even heartier. Delicious, but even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This recipe really is insanely easy, and even my meat-loving fiance swooned over it. I made a few small modifications: I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil because it's what I had on hand, and "chili-ready" chopped tomatoes rather than the canned whole variety. I like spicy chili but since I used the chili-ready tomatoes, I didn't have to change the seasonings much; I added an extra half tablespoon of chili powder and halved the cumin to 1/2 tablespoon, and added a teaspoon of sea salt to enhance the flavors (which might not have been necessary if I had not used the low-sodium beans and corn). I also added a drained can of white beans. The finished product came out very thick and chunky, probably due to my high elevation, but that's how I prefer my chili anyway. Overall, this so good that we ate virtually nothing but chili for two days. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I am a new vegetarian. This was one of the recipes I decided to try to eat throughout the week. I doubled the recipe and froze most of it. I used less cumin like everyone suggested. I also used more tomatoes, I like a soupier chili. I added salt, pepper and a little more chili powder. Simply put, this is FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This turned out wonderful served with a spoonful of sour cream and crumbled tortilla chips on top. I do recommend using 2 tablespoons of chili powder and 1 teaspoon of cumin as several other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
So something is missing from this. I can't figure it out. It's barely edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oishii86

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This chili is insanely easy and delicious! I used frozen corn instead of canned, and only had anaheim peppers so I substituted those for the bell peppers. Also, I used portobello mushrooms. Very tasty, excellent vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
WE love this veggie chili! We add a can of black beans and omit the mushrooms as well as cut back on the cumin. This is a great recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EudailyFam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
The first time I attempted to make chili, and it was just fabulous! I absolutely adore this recipe. The only real work is cutting up the veggies, best chili ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Excellent! I made a double batch and froze the vegetables (minus tomatoes, corn, and beans) after sauteing and then pulled them out added the rest and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States