Insane Oven Beef Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is NOT a good recipe for ribs. I much prefer the "Honey Ribs" recipe that's made in a slow cooker. These were bland and tough. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
THESE RIBS ARE VERY TENDER AND VERY TASTY TOO!! TWO THUMBS UP!! IF YOU LIKE THEM SPICY THEN JUST FIRE'EM UP! OTHERWISE THEY ARE PERFECT! THANK-YOU FOR SHARING YOUR RECIPE WITH US!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
The first time I made this I made the mistake of using long ribs - a greasy mess. However, the next time, when I followed the recipe exactly it came out great and I had to share it with my boss! She caught me eating leftovers at my desk and they smelled so good I had to give her a copy :-) Hubby and I both love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slywlf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe, very much. My wife is still laughing, over having earlier read a review, from someone who after changing this recipe by substituting short ribs to long, and the wine to beer, (90% of they recipe volume) said they were unhappy by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jbertsch
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I started making this and realized that it just wouldn't have enough pizazz for me and my boyfriend's spicy taste. I made it as is with a little less olive oil, about 5-10 shakes of tobasco sauce, 1/2-3/4 cup of Famous Dave's Devil Spit BBQ sauce and a little chili powder. With the few modifications, it was excellent for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbertsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These came out wonderful!! I had to do something different because my grill broke and I was planning on BBQ ribs. I ended up trying this recipe and it turned out great. I did do a couple of things different. I put all the sauce in with the ribs in a glass dish and covered it with foil for the first 15 minutes. Once the sauce had thickened up, I removed the foil, turned the ribs, brushed the sauce all over them and cooked for another 15 minutes without covering. They came out perfect! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
easy and fast and delicious! we used st louis style and didnt have red wine on hand, but the ribs are all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ryman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barnhart, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
An excellent safe recipe. Good flavour and tender ribs. Made my pregnant wife very happy in a meat craving moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was fanTAStic. I did the long ribs. They were perfect! I used cumin instead of curry, though. And I used Worchestershire instead of soy sauce. Oh yeah, and I added onion powder. I used all ingredients (minus the ribs) as a "sauce" to marinate the ribs overnight (reserving half of it to use while cooking) then covered tightly with foil. I slow cooked them at 250 degrees for several hours while we were out at a family function. (we were gone from 3pm to 6:30pm) They absolutely FELL off the bone and were sooooo tender! I had researched other recipes but this turned out to be the BEST launching pad recipe. This is going to be added to the hand-me-down family recipe box for all time. I might try to add cayenne pepper next time though. That might just put this "insane" recipe right over the top and commit us all to the asylum! Everyone at the table kept saying between bites, "mmm-this is really, really good." Honestly, there wasn't any intelligent conversation at the dinner table tonight; only exclamations of delight. And once dinner was over, immediate texting to friends about the great meal. My stay-at-home-mom, kitchen-cooking-ego is fit to burst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I substituted beer for 2wine and used long ribs not shirot but I was not impressed with the flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States