Insalata Tricolore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I used vine-ripened tomatoes as they have more flavor, and also garlic-infused olive oil. Absolutely delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Made this along with several other appy's from this site last night. It's was a pleasant change from our usual version. Added cracked black pepper on top & fresh basil. Then drizzled it with delicious quality balsamic vinegar and cold pressed extra virgin olive oil. Yummy :) will be having this combo again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Absolutely loved this! My boyfriend isn't much of a salad eater but he ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shingodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Absolutely love this salad. Make it or order it when eating out as much as I can - big fan of avocado. A nice twist is to leave out the balsamic vinegar and just add lime or lemon juice and a quality chile oil instead - just as yummy. Serve with fresh parsley or on a bed of rocket. - Lexi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Loved it! While I agree the avocado flavor did get a little bit lost, I did very much enjoy the creaminess of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a wonderful salad option for those of you who want something different. It also makes a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Everyone went crazy over this,it was gone in seconds.Next time I make it for a big group I'll make double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This salad is DIVINE! Caprese salad has always been my favorite salad, but the addition of creamy avocado slices, puts this over the moon. The recipe does not call for basil, but I still like to add some basil strips to my salad. Also, to make this worth it, invest in quality ingredients-you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
So delicious. I added some fresh squeezed lime juice to the avocados because I was nervous they would brown before I served the dish. That, paired with balsamic was really nice. This was devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
We LOVED this, it is super delicious! I am a big fan of Caprese salads, so I was a bit skeptical using the avocado instead of basil. This is fabulous, we had a platter of this as an appetizer yesterday and I'm making more today. I had to use small Campari tomatoes because large tomatoes around here this time of year are not very good. I recommend not adding basil to this because its going to kill the flavor of the avocado. I did see some members did this after reading reviews, I would not like this with basil added also. Be sure to use the salt and pepper too, this recipe is perfect as is! I can't wait to make this with summer tomatoes, thanks for sharing this. I will make this often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States