Insalata Tricolore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I regularly make this for lunch as it is very quick and easy. I like to serve it with fresh basil leaves on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Perfect summer lunch! I like the addition of avocado to the traditional caprese salad. Used basil and parmesan cheese for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was a yummy salad, although the avocado, which I love, was kind of lost. Its delicate flavor was overwhelmed by the stronger tastes of the vinegar, tomato, and mozzarella. Also, if you're going to make this, you really can't skimp...you have to use high quality ingredients. As a result, this is a surprisingly expensive dish. This is very filling. My husband and I had it for dinner and it was more than enough to fill us. This would probably be fine to make 6 appetizers (one "stack" per person). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I used vine-ripened tomatoes as they have more flavor, and also garlic-infused olive oil. Absolutely delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Insalata caprese is one of my favorites so I was intriqued by the idea of adding avocado. First, the presentation was beautiful and it was easy to prepare. That said, I agree with the other reviewer that the avocado "got lost" with the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Loved it! While I agree the avocado flavor did get a little bit lost, I did very much enjoy the creaminess of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very easy to prepare. I liked the addition of avocado as a twist to the caprese. I will do this a lot in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was quite yummy, but the avocados were out-of-place. I love avocados and will happily eat them any way they come. However, it is a shame to mar the brilliance of the fresh mozzarella and tomato- which is perfection on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a wonderful salad option for those of you who want something different. It also makes a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Everyone went crazy over this,it was gone in seconds.Next time I make it for a big group I'll make double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States