Insalata Tricolore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This salad is DIVINE! Caprese salad has always been my favorite salad, but the addition of creamy avocado slices, puts this over the moon. The recipe does not call for basil, but I still like to add some basil strips to my salad. Also, to make this worth it, invest in quality ingredients-you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I put a basil leaf on top of each one and drizzled lemon-infused oil over the top to give it a bit of a zest. So lovely and refreshing. A very nice way to start a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Everyone went crazy over this,it was gone in seconds.Next time I make it for a big group I'll make double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a wonderful salad option for those of you who want something different. It also makes a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was quite yummy, but the avocados were out-of-place. I love avocados and will happily eat them any way they come. However, it is a shame to mar the brilliance of the fresh mozzarella and tomato- which is perfection on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very easy to prepare. I liked the addition of avocado as a twist to the caprese. I will do this a lot in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Loved it! While I agree the avocado flavor did get a little bit lost, I did very much enjoy the creaminess of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Insalata caprese is one of my favorites so I was intriqued by the idea of adding avocado. First, the presentation was beautiful and it was easy to prepare. That said, I agree with the other reviewer that the avocado "got lost" with the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I used vine-ripened tomatoes as they have more flavor, and also garlic-infused olive oil. Absolutely delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was a yummy salad, although the avocado, which I love, was kind of lost. Its delicate flavor was overwhelmed by the stronger tastes of the vinegar, tomato, and mozzarella. Also, if you're going to make this, you really can't skimp...you have to use high quality ingredients. As a result, this is a surprisingly expensive dish. This is very filling. My husband and I had it for dinner and it was more than enough to fill us. This would probably be fine to make 6 appetizers (one "stack" per person). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States