Insalata Caprese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe is simple and classic. The key however, is to have very fresh ingredients. If you don't have very fresh tomatoes, don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I make this 2-3 times a week when tomatoes are at their peak. Last night I grated a garlic clove and minced a little red onion. I use my very best olive oil and 10 year old Balsamic, but I never measure. Let it set on the counter while prepping the rest of dinner. I use the little mozzarella boccatini balls available at most groceries and Sam's Club. Seriously good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
So Good!!! Using fresh picked tomatoes and basil from our garden really make this dish. A summer long favorite at lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Super easy and super delicious. I agree w/previous reviewers' posts about using more EVOO and less balsamic vinegar. I used twice as much oil than vinegar. I added about a tbsp. of garlic pepper and a tsp. of sea salt. After sitting overnight, the next day's leftover batch tasted even better! If you have the chance, let it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Like a good wine, it tastes better with time. The first night the vinegar taste was a little too much; the next, the liquid had a mellowed sweetness. Sure the tomatoes are mushier, but it still tastes awesome. Definitely serve with bread to sop up sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Delicious! Just like an Italian Pizzeria we have locally. Just the restaurant here I added some olives to the side. Topped with sea salt & fresh ground pepper. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very good salad. I only rated a 4 because I changed it up a bit by adding a clove of minced fresh garlic and making the dressing using 3 parts extra virgin olive oil to 1 part of the balsamic vinegar. 1/2 balsamic and 1/2 oil makes it very tart and overpowering. Make sure the balsamic is the best you can buy, the older the better, the more syrupy it is, the better. Trader Joe's sells a very nice aged balsamic for less than $10 a bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I had some extra fresh basil from another recipe this week and was trying to think of what I could make. I didn't want to slice tomatoes, mozzarella, and basil and lay them out in something time consuming and fancy for just us and so I found this recipe. I had some mozzarella in the fridge, but next time I will definitely use fresh mozzarella. i also used grape tomatoes as they were on sale and the dish was delicious. Never had it with balsamic before and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was fabulous, I took it to a potluck and left with no leftovers and several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
YUMMY! We ate this on Trader Joe's Asiago Cheese w/peppercorn sourdough bread......delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States