Insalata Caprese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Sometimes I take the onion out when I'm not in the mood. Great with and without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Made it without the onions and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Fresh mozzarella really does taste great, but if you're not planning on eating all of this in one sitting, you might want to consider using regular mozz. Fresh tends to break down a bit if it sits in the oil and vinegar for a long while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Loved this! Served it to company and they loved it. Leftovers were great next day. Next time I will use the mozzarella balls I've seen in store. They're an inch size and that would look good but the other fine too. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Easy and delicious. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe is simple and classic. The key however, is to have very fresh ingredients. If you don't have very fresh tomatoes, don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I make this 2-3 times a week when tomatoes are at their peak. Last night I grated a garlic clove and minced a little red onion. I use my very best olive oil and 10 year old Balsamic, but I never measure. Let it set on the counter while prepping the rest of dinner. I use the little mozzarella boccatini balls available at most groceries and Sam's Club. Seriously good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
So Good!!! Using fresh picked tomatoes and basil from our garden really make this dish. A summer long favorite at lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Super easy and super delicious. I agree w/previous reviewers' posts about using more EVOO and less balsamic vinegar. I used twice as much oil than vinegar. I added about a tbsp. of garlic pepper and a tsp. of sea salt. After sitting overnight, the next day's leftover batch tasted even better! If you have the chance, let it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Like a good wine, it tastes better with time. The first night the vinegar taste was a little too much; the next, the liquid had a mellowed sweetness. Sure the tomatoes are mushier, but it still tastes awesome. Definitely serve with bread to sop up sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States