Insalata Caprese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Tomatoes and fresh basil are a classic combination! It doesn't get much better or much simpler that this - it's absolutely delicious! I decreased the onion and I probably could have left it out altogether. I plated this vs. tossing in all in a bowl. Plus, I NEVER chill it, but rather leave it at room temperature. It's so fresh and so good it could be a meal in and of itself! It's perfect with a a side a crusty Italian bread and a good wine. A definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
N.J. is known for growing the tastiest tomatoes in the country and we all know never to refrigerate these red beauties, as they will lose their flavor. After combining the ingredients, including garlic, I just let the mixture sit on my counter to absorb all the wonderful flavors. Ten minutes before serving I added the cheese. Thanks so much Kathy for a great side!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
So Good!!! Using fresh picked tomatoes and basil from our garden really make this dish. A summer long favorite at lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Use fresh ingredients...especially the mozzerella, and seed the tomatoes so it's not a wet mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
This was a great salad. I messed up and got shredded mozzarella without thinking, but it still turned out great! Rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Extremely easy and very tasty. A nice side dish for a bacon-wrapped filet mignon. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Loved this! Easy Fast and Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Great, simple recipe - perfect in the Summer with grilled steaks or for a light lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I wanted add a new italian salad for italian night dinner. My husband and 17 year old daughter loved it. It was so flavorful and zesty. They ended mixing leftovers with lettuce berg. Thanks, it was a hit! Raquel Altavilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very good salad. I only rated a 4 because I changed it up a bit by adding a clove of minced fresh garlic and making the dressing using 3 parts extra virgin olive oil to 1 part of the balsamic vinegar. 1/2 balsamic and 1/2 oil makes it very tart and overpowering. Make sure the balsamic is the best you can buy, the older the better, the more syrupy it is, the better. Trader Joe's sells a very nice aged balsamic for less than $10 a bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States