Insalata Caprese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This was ssssoooooooo yummy! So easy, so fresh, and gorgeous! I will be making this over and over again. What a treat! I did not use all of the oil and balsalmic vinegar it called for. 1/3 cup oil seemed like a lot. I used 3 TBS, but I think you could use even less. Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I suppose this is just personal taste, but personally I found this to be too oily, not vinegary enough, and very bland. More onions or garlic could have helped I think. I put in more vinegar than called for and still was disappointed. It was still edible, so I'll give two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I thought the flavors to the salad were great, but, I still think I prefer the layered caprese better than having it mixed together. The cheese soaked in the balsamic giving it an unappealing dark brown color. I also think the balsamic flavor overwhelmed the fresh basil. I totally forgot the red onion, but, I am sure it would be great in the salad. Thanks for the recipe, but, I will stick with the simplicity of a traditional Caprese salad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I didn't have basil and tried using fresh lettuce. Apparently basil makes all the difference in this. I've had this before with basil and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious and refreshing. I add cucumbers sometimes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Excellent. Everyone loved it Made it according to recipe except left out onion for some guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
So simple its perfect. It helps me use up the basil growing on the windowsill in one of the most delicious ways. Love it to pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This recipe was a great addition to my homegrown tomatoes and basil. I did use a balsamic reduction and there's nothing like putting those fresh ingredients to work on a tasty treat for me and my girls. I totally forgot to add the onions, but oh well, I will next time. Loved it Loved it!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Admittedly, I picked this recipe based on a photo. I liked the cut up cherry/grape tomatoes for a "dish-able" side dish. This was delicious. I cubed fresh mozz., halved red & yellow cherry tomatoes, chopped the basil (chiffonade, and thinly slice the onion. I mixed those and then waited until just before travel time (taking dish to a gathering) to add the liquids. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks, katquilter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is my favorite recipe for this salad. I like to add a handful of Italian seasoned croutons and a dash of rosemary, and I usually skip the salt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States