Injera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Corrected first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Injera is a a little tricky, but once you get the hang of it, it's easy. You pan HAS to be at the perfect temperature or else ANY injera will stick. It is designed to be laid flat on a plate and piled high with a thick stew. It has a bland taste and a spongey texture, which make it perfect for soaking up rich stews. You actually use it instead of utensils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Authentic recipe & preparation. Injera is tricky to make, but practice makes perfect. Injera is a sourdough flatbread- that's why the dough sits for 24hrs, for the sourdough fermentation process. It is cooked only on one side; the uncooked side stays spongy & soft. And for 'accidentalfoodie': You are correct that teff and millet aren't the same grain. But you are incorrect in that BOTH are gluten-free. Gluten by definition is the protein in wheat. There is no gluten in either millet or teff. Teff is the world's smallest grain- technically a grass, native to east Africa. It can range widely in colors, is very high in fiber & protein, and has a sweety/nutty flavor. Teff is often assumed to be sour, as many recipes/preparations partially or fully ferment the grain (as is the case with this recipe, where it basically becomes sourdough). Millet is a name of a family of grains (also grasses) native to India and central/west Africa. They grow very well in arid regions, have a pearl-like grain, and are mild in flavor and high in protein. Toasting the grain before cooking or grinding for flour can improve the taste. Teff is sometimes considered to be a millet grain (a member of the millet family), but in the US, what is sold as "millet flour" is from a different plant than teff flour. Use real teff flour if you can find it-- it will give a more complex/robust taste than millet flour, which is usually pretty bland. But either one will work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent! It took a while to get a hang of making these, but after I got it figured out they were awesome. I cooked each one for two minutes on my nonstick griddle, and covered them with a lid from my crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This recipe is authentic. Yes, Injera does take a little while to get down correctly, but it is worth it. For those who aren't familiar with the spongey (yes, it really does feel and taste spongey) bread, it is supposed to be bland. Traditionally, the sponge bread is used in place of silverware to eat stews, curries and things like pickled cabbage. There is even etiquette for eating Ethiopian food (when eating, you have to take care to not place your fingers inside your mouth) So, yes the bread is bland, but you don't just eat the bread. Please keep in mind that if you make Injera, you will also need to make other dishes to eat with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Loved this recipe. This bread is not intended to be eaten alone. Injera is used to pick up your food. Think of it as the ethiopian version of chop-stix! The spongy bread takes on the flavor of the food you are eating. Try it with Atar Allecha or Ginger veggies! I will hold onto this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Jennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Great recipe. Just a correction, as I saw that a reviewer mentioned that Teff flour is *not* gluten free... it *IS* gluten-free, and completely safe for celiacs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My Ethiopian friends would be impressed...like every recipe...they get better with practice and personal style...=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
The little girl I tutor was pretty impressed that I tried to make Injera. I learned at an Ethiopian cooking class that Injera should be made on a special skillet to get the best results and after using one I have to agree. Until I can afford the proper one I will keep trying but to be honest once you've had the real thing nothing else is quite as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Teff and millet are not actually the same grain: Millet, for one thing, is gluten-free, while teff has gluten. So, cooking with millet may be one reason this recipe hasn't worked out, because gluten gives dough elasticity and makes it rise better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States