Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I am of Dutch descent, where Indonesian cuisine was quite popular. This recipe is freakin' superb. Try it. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
WOW talk about EASY and extremely tasty!!! Our family absolutely loved this satay recipe!! I didn't think 15 minutes of marinating time would be enough but it was very good!! We love spiced up food so next time I might marinate it even longer. We used our George Foreman grill and since it cooks both sides at the same time we just grilled it for 5 minutes and it came out great!!! Thanks Estherlita...this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
These were a positive hit at my dinner event. Even with my substitutions, they were delicious. I used pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce, and olive oil for the peanut oil. I also, shocked by how liquidy my peanut sauce was turning out, doubled the peanut butter to 1 cup. I'm used to a thicker sauce, and this turned out just how I wanted it. A restaurant-quality recipe - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I loved this dish as did my family. I did spice up the peanut sauce with a bit of red pepper flakes as was suggested by other reviewers. Otherwise, the recipe was perfect. Served with basmati rice and a side of broccoli. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was really good. And will go in my party folder recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Delicious, easy and visually appealing makes this a perfect appetizer for company. I made the following modifications: halved the marinade for one chicken breast; substituted ketchup for tomato sauce; added a pinch of red pepper flakes; flattened chicken before cutting into strips; marinaded chicken in a bag for four hours; soaked skewers for at least two hours; grilled on my Cuisinart griddler. I did not make the peanut sauce. I look forward to trying this again with a fattier cut of chicken like the thigh, as well as with pork, beef and prawns. This is a wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Thank you Estherlita! My 6 year old daughter couldn't get enough - she ate more than my husband and myself. I accidentally opened up tomatoe soup and used that instead of the tomatoe sauce and it still turned out great. Thanks for this recipe - a definite do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Oh my God! This is fabulous...It has alot of ingredients, but is worth the effort I made this as written. If you are not going to make it as written and you don't like it then you shouldn't rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Fantastic! As good as any restaurant. I left it to marinade about 1 hour. This would be just as good made with chicken thighs. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a review for the sauce ONLY. I used natural creamy peanut butter, because I had no chunky, but I doubt it changes the flavor. The sauce was AWESOME. It went really well with another chicken satay that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States