Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and everyone loved it. For those of you who find the sauce too thin, reduce the amount of water added! You don't need more peanut butter and you don't need to cook it down, just add the water at the end of your ingredients in small amounts up to a cup until you have reached the right level of thickness for you. We all found it flavorful and although I love spicy food, I didn't see the need for adding pepper flakes. Thanks for a really easy, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Love this wonderful recipe. Too cold to grill so I broiled them. I used extra chunky peanut butter. I subbed ketchup for the tomato sauce, out of peanut oil so I used 1 teaspoon sesame oil and 2 teaspoons canola oil. Served with Basmati rice and peas. This will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Chicken was really tasty off the grill. Dipping sauce was good, but a little peanutty. Overall everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wow! Made this for dinner tonight and I couldn't get enough of it. Increased the amount of cumin in the marinade, marinaded for 1 hour, and decided not to make the peanut sauce tonight, but I will try it next time I make this. Because we don't have a grill and I didn't want it to burn on the george foreman, I put it under the broiler for eight minutes per side-- juicy, flavorful, and delicious! Not a perfect recipe, but for ease of preparation, you can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Good marinade and even better sauce. Chunky peanut butter is a must. This was delish. Thanks! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
If you don't have tomato sauce you can use ketchup and it tastes the same! I also used sesame oil instead of peanut b/c that is what I had. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nacloud234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
A great recipe! I make this once a week. I don't make the peanut sauce. I'm not a fan of it. It just tastes like peanut butter, and I can't taste any of the other flavours so I don't make it. The marinade for the chicken is amazing! I would give it 5 stars alone! I usually let it marinade for 4 hours but I've even done 24 hrs while taking it camping. I make it as written but I use toasted sesame seed oil instead of peanut oil and I add red chili peppers bc we like a little heat. I bbq the chicken or I'll make it on the stove as a stir fry. I like to serve this on top of sticky rice or along a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sa'
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Really good and easy to do! Didn't have tomato sauce, so I used ketchup instead. Also added a pinch of garlic powder, gala powder, and salt. The peanut sauce is great. I wasn't sure of the minced onion, but it made the sauce more "hearty." Also added red pepper flakes, and simmered for a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sa'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I lived in Indonesia for eight years, and this peanut sauce is great. It also works well on blanched vegetables (like gado-gado), and a little extra heat from some chilies doesn't hurt it at all! Estherlita, this recipe has gone all over the world because I have been making it and giving out the recipe since 2004 (2005?). I have served it in Texas, Alaska, Azerbaijan and Turkey. I have sent the recipe link to friends in Norway and the UK. It's popular everywhere. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This good and pretty easy to make - we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States