Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I give the chicken a 5* but the sauce a 3*. The chicken was really good and I would for sure make the chicken again. I marinated for a few hours and it had a wonderful flavor. The sauce was as thin as water and did not have very much flavor at all. When I make this again I wont make the sauce. I seved the is homeade wonton soup and lettuce wraps... what a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I prepared it for a party and everyone loved it. I doubled the peanut butter and the water as suggested by some of the reviewers, but I think it would have been perfectly fine as it is in the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Really liked this. Made it just as written. I liked the sauce, my kids ate it without and thought the chicken with the marinade was excellent 'as is' even without the sauce. Marinated it about 5 hours, and it was very tender. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Family went crazy over the chicken, not so much the peanut sauce. The sauce just tasted like melted peanut butter to me; I couldn't taste anything but that. Might try some other sauce next time. On the whole, this was a big hit, and I will be making this again. It is a little work intensive first time making it, but I figure next time will be easier, and it was well worth the applause I got at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Really good chicken recipe! I used my indoor grill pan because it was raining outside. Chicken came out perfectly juicy and not dry at all. Loved the marinade. The peanut dipping sauce was good, but I made it even better by the addition of some Sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was very good! I loved the peanut butter sauce but my husband didn't think too much of it even though he loves peanut butter. Will definately make the chicken again, it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Delicious! I marinated the chicken for about an hour. I absolutely loved the peanut sauce. I made it at the same time as the marinade and it came to room temperature which thickened the sauce. I served the chicken over rice and stir fried vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
The marinade was pretty tasty though I only let it sit for about 20 minutes. Next time I'll let it sit a little longer. The peanut sauce was just too peanuty. All it tasted like was peanut. So, I added a little bit more soy sauce and lemon juice (just a little ) and some ginger, cayenne, and sesame oil and it was better. Still not as good as restaurant quality peanut sauce, but it was a little spicier/tangier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was FANTASTIC. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyxnx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
The dipping sauce is amazing! tastes like peanut dressing at ta restaurant! i added the water a little at a time and let it thicken up over heat slowly. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States