Indonesian Fried Rice (Nasi Goreng) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe was delicious and a big hit in my house! I didn't use any of the meat as I was using this for a side, but the taste was so good, it didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Iya, this recipe is enak! Only I didn't have any cumin, but next time okay lah. Also, I used the fancy molasses to mix with my soy sauce to make the perfect Kecup Manis. For the shrimp, I only had the dried ones from the Chinese market but I boiled for ten minutes to make soft. The leftover rice from the night before was already in the fridge but after it had let off a little steam. I think it was splendid except my Indonesian wife suggested we should have some terasi. Well, we will have to make a trip to Calgary to find that. num num
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Om Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
A really good recipe I added a few more veggies just because I had them on hand and they needed to be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very tasty. Added some veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was very good. A Dutch coworker of mine recommended that I cook the onions in bacon grease first and I'm so glad I did! The flavor was wonderful. I added some musherooms that I had on hand and chile paste. I didn't have any shrimp so I just used a full pound of chicken. I also didn't have a leek so I added green onion. Everything else I kept the same. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe! I lived in Indonesia and its very authentic. I omitted the leeks but added frozen (cooked) green peas and a grated carrot for color and white pepper and salt to taste. Then served with cilantro sprinkled on top. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was very good. I had to use regular light soy sauce, didn't have the sweet. I also added a little fish sauce since I have seen other recipes that did, and our family is a fan of it. Rest of the recipe I followed exact and everyone enjoyed it. Thnx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
We omitted the prawns & used more chicken. Using regular soy sauce made it so salty, so we just doubled the rice. Leeks are SO good for you and milder than onions, so we added an extra due to a small onion. The coriander & cumin made great flavor that sits on your tongue! My kids loved it, but appreciated minced veggies. Will add a red pepper for cool color next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Nasi Goreng is a staple in our home. My hubby's maternal side of the family are dutch...however they spent a good deal of time in Indonesia. I have learned many wonderful recipes that are Dutch/Indonesian. This particular one we make a little different. We use leftover (cold) rice from a previous meal and saute in bacon grease. We then add in chopped green onion, regular onion, spam cut up (or bacon if we have some cooked) and enough soy sauce to coat the rice nicely. You could very easily use any meat of your choosing. We also add in scrambled eggs. Very simple and a very good way to use up leftover rice. Just make sure your using COLD rice! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made it with no meat as a side and it was great. I didn't have chile peppers so I used some red and green bell peppers. Also only used 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamkopp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States