Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
These little wellies were wonderful, my kids loved them! Huge hit. Tip- I chopped the mushrooms and onions in the food processor before sauteing, so the kids would not recognize them! Still tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Absolutely loved this recipe, But I recommend searing all sides of the filets before wrapping in the pastry. My girlfriend finally believes I can cook after making this for her. Everyone I have made this forhas absolutely raved about the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Delicious! The puff pastry is very delicate, so it's important to be careful when wrapping the steaks, but it is worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
As much as I like the other Wellington recipe on this site, this one is really much easier. Trust the cooking time. Once out of the oven, "tent" with foil and monitor with a meat theromometer to let the meat get from medium-rare to medium or medium-well if you prefer. In the future, I will use less butter to saute the mushrooms and onions and will also add a liver pate/butter mixture (stolen from the other welly recipe on this site) to make this a real Beef Wellingon. Either way, this recipe is easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I made three of the steaks as written. On the other three I layed a small slice of swiss cheese over the mushroom mixture. We liked them made both ways but thought the ones with the swiss cheese had a little more flavor. Next time I make this I will probably add the cheese to all of the bundles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This is really tasty and easy to make (although a little time consuming). I sealed the steak in a hot pan before wrapping in the pastry. I also added garlic to the mushroom mixture and a splash of cream. Served with hollandaise sauce as was suggested - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Looked cute enough, but way too much food for each person to have an 8oz fillet. Think more like 4 oz. Overall it could use more flavor, maybe some garlic or something. Not to be done in this household again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Great Recipe. I also seared them in a hot pan before wrapping them, the mushroom and onion mixture can be adjusted to taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Roxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This recipe was just ok... I had trouble creating the "paste" that was supposed to come of the parsley, onion, sherry and butter mixture. The parsley was a little overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Easy to make and looks impressive when served. I used suggestion of adding swiss cheese and it was good. I used red wine instead of dry sherry -- that worked fine, too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States