Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
As my very happy husband remarked..."Restaurant quality!" Super easy and quite tasty. I omitted the parsley because I forgot to buy it, but I put the mushrooms and onions in the food processor prior to sauteeing in the brandy and butter as was suggested and it was a great idea. I served this with spinach sauteed in garlic and olive oil and baby carrots. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Wonderful! I first seared the steaks in a very hot cast iron pan and cooled them in the fridge. I whirled the mushrooms, onion and parsley in the processor to chop them very finely. I then sauteed in the sherry and butter and reduced as directed. I received kudos from everyone at the table. They are so impressive----and so easy to put together. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was very good. I was plesantly surprised at how good it was. I served it for a dinner party and everyone raved. As others said to do, I put the vegetables, including garlic, in a food processor to help make the paste. Then I added this mixture to the butter and sherry in the saute pan and let it reduce, which took a while. I also added swiss cheese to each filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
These are so good and very easy. Great that they can be made ahead. I seared the steaks first. Also put vegetables in food processor which made the paste needed. Has any one used bourbon instead of sherry? I would only bake for 20 mins if the pastry is brown enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Easy to make and looks impressive when served. I used suggestion of adding swiss cheese and it was good. I used red wine instead of dry sherry -- that worked fine, too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This recipe was just ok... I had trouble creating the "paste" that was supposed to come of the parsley, onion, sherry and butter mixture. The parsley was a little overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Great Recipe. I also seared them in a hot pan before wrapping them, the mushroom and onion mixture can be adjusted to taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Roxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Looked cute enough, but way too much food for each person to have an 8oz fillet. Think more like 4 oz. Overall it could use more flavor, maybe some garlic or something. Not to be done in this household again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This is really tasty and easy to make (although a little time consuming). I sealed the steak in a hot pan before wrapping in the pastry. I also added garlic to the mushroom mixture and a splash of cream. Served with hollandaise sauce as was suggested - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I made three of the steaks as written. On the other three I layed a small slice of swiss cheese over the mushroom mixture. We liked them made both ways but thought the ones with the swiss cheese had a little more flavor. Next time I make this I will probably add the cheese to all of the bundles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States