Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this recipe last night and it came out wonderfully! I seared the steaks for about 30 seconds in the hottest pan I could get and then chilled them down again. Also, I read in several reviews that you have to HEAT your cookie sheet or baking pan before putting the wellingtons on or they will get soggy on the bottom, this worked like a charm. I got nervous about the cooking time when the pastry got brown (I had coated the outside in an egg wash that made it a beautiful golden color), so I turned the oven down to 325 after about 15 minutes, still left the meat in for the rest of the cooking time for a total of 25 minutes and they were perfectly medium rare. I modified the ingredients to this recipe to include shallots and garlic (instead of onions) and spread the mushroom paste on top of the filet before wrapping in the pastry. I had also squeezed the mushrooms after cooking in between layers of paper towels to get rid of the excess water. I added about 2 tablespoons of gorgonzola cheese inside, which added GREAT flavor! For a sauce to accompany the dish, I would recommend reducing 4 cups of beef stock and 1.5 cups of port down to about 2 c. volume and then whisking in 1 tbsp butter mixed with 1 tbsp flour (mixed into a paste). After it thickened, I stirred in some caramelized shallots, another tbsp of butter, and a few bits of crumbled bacon - season with pepper. This was a combination of a few other sauces I've seen on this site and it tasted like something I'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner this year. I had a little trouble rolling out the pastry thin enough, I wasn't sure if this was because I didn't thaw it enough or because I had one to many pre-dinner cocktails with our guests! This ended up turning out perfectly! I used leftover pastry and put a Christmas shape on each guest's wellington. I'm not sure that extra effort was appreciated but the meal itself was. I served this with a delicious sauce made from 1 c heavy cream, 1/2 c dry sherry, 1/4c flour, 3 T butter, 4 cloves garlic, 2c beef broth which I found in a magazine. I received numerous comments on how delicious it was. It was very very filling however. Even the men could barely finish theirs. Definately worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
As much as I like the other Wellington recipe on this site, this one is really much easier. Trust the cooking time. Once out of the oven, "tent" with foil and monitor with a meat theromometer to let the meat get from medium-rare to medium or medium-well if you prefer. In the future, I will use less butter to saute the mushrooms and onions and will also add a liver pate/butter mixture (stolen from the other welly recipe on this site) to make this a real Beef Wellingon. Either way, this recipe is easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was such a hit. I had my parents over for a birthday party and made these individual wellington's. My parents and my husband cannot stop raving about this meal. Even my 5 year old and 2 year old sons ate half a wellington each. I did serve this meat with a wine reduction sauce. I took one can of beef broth and 1 cup or so of red wine and a couple of tablespoons of butter and let them simmer for about 20 minutes, then added 1/4 cup of heavy cream and simmered for another 5-10 minutes. The sauce is super rich but complements the meal perfectly. I alos shortened the cook time on the beef because of other reviews and my oven tends to cook quickly. I cooked my wellington's for 18 minutes and they came out med-rare and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyHaldeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Absolutely loved this recipe, But I recommend searing all sides of the filets before wrapping in the pastry. My girlfriend finally believes I can cook after making this for her. Everyone I have made this forhas absolutely raved about the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I created a crazy fun appetizer for a cocktail party. Aafter browning the tenderloin, I chopped it into small cubes. After testing a few rounds, I found it really important to make it easy to eat as a finger food. Make ahead of time and freeze. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
These little wellies were wonderful, my kids loved them! Huge hit. Tip- I chopped the mushrooms and onions in the food processor before sauteing, so the kids would not recognize them! Still tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These were quite good. Made as suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBROSIA1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abionca
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
OMG! This is my first Beef Wellington I ever ate or made and its was good! (actually I am still eating it right now lol). I was going to make the other Wellington with more reviews but this one seemed easier and I am so happy I picked it. I honestly did not measure the Sherry, I just keep adding it in and tasting. Ohh, I did my famous mac & cheese on the side and had a nice Dos Equis with it :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abionca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
These are so good and very easy. Great that they can be made ahead. I seared the steaks first. Also put vegetables in food processor which made the paste needed. Has any one used bourbon instead of sherry? I would only bake for 20 mins if the pastry is brown enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States