Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner this year. I had a little trouble rolling out the pastry thin enough, I wasn't sure if this was because I didn't thaw it enough or because I had one to many pre-dinner cocktails with our guests! This ended up turning out perfectly! I used leftover pastry and put a Christmas shape on each guest's wellington. I'm not sure that extra effort was appreciated but the meal itself was. I served this with a delicious sauce made from 1 c heavy cream, 1/2 c dry sherry, 1/4c flour, 3 T butter, 4 cloves garlic, 2c beef broth which I found in a magazine. I received numerous comments on how delicious it was. It was very very filling however. Even the men could barely finish theirs. Definately worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I love this recipe because it is great to have something so easy that makes dinner feel like a very special occasion. I like to roll out extra puff pastry to make shapes to decorate the tops, and brush with a beaten egg before baking to give it a pretty golden color. I also brown the steaks first (and let them cool before wrapping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
These were excellent! The only thing I changed was I used red wine instead. Everything else was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was such a hit. I had my parents over for a birthday party and made these individual wellington's. My parents and my husband cannot stop raving about this meal. Even my 5 year old and 2 year old sons ate half a wellington each. I did serve this meat with a wine reduction sauce. I took one can of beef broth and 1 cup or so of red wine and a couple of tablespoons of butter and let them simmer for about 20 minutes, then added 1/4 cup of heavy cream and simmered for another 5-10 minutes. The sauce is super rich but complements the meal perfectly. I alos shortened the cook time on the beef because of other reviews and my oven tends to cook quickly. I cooked my wellington's for 18 minutes and they came out med-rare and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyHaldeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I added jalapenos and bacon (and pureed) the topping. I also baked them on a rack so they wouldn't get soggy. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I followed the suggestions, and mine still came out a little closer to rare than medium rare. The pastry was also a little underdone on the top inside. I think this was because of the mushroom mixture. I will try to make it a little drier next time and add crumbled bacon pieces. I think this would also be good just wrapping the beef in the pastry. My husband loved it and we had plenty of leftovers for his lunch the next day (we only used 2 tenderloin fillets and that made plenty). A definite hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Marie Lenio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Excellent! I used a cheaper cut of beef and they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
My family really enjoyed this dish. I personally thought it was missing something, like spices. Next time I am adding a jalopeno minced with the mushroom mixture. I used red wine in the mushroom mixture and next time maybe marinate the steaks a little. I'll give it another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I browned the filets for a minute or two on each side before wrapping them with the 'paste'. Everything went well, except the recommended 25 minute cook time. They were all really good and enjoyable after they were done; however, they were all WELL done. So if you like it WELL done, the 25 minutes is for you. otherwise adjust accordingly. Will make again soon, but cook half the time. And I will try to add a little bit of swiss cheese into the 'paste' as others recommended, just to give a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe is excellent! I followed others' advice...seared the filets on the stove for a few minutes, then chopped up the mushrooms and onions. I added two cloves of garlic to this mixture. I also put it on a rack to prevent the bottom part of the dough from getting soggy. I allowed the beef to rest for about 10 minutes after coming out of the oven. It was wonderful. The only part that gave me a bit of trouble is that the dough separated on the first one I made...I used dabs of water to keep the second one intact. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States