Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe! Very easy to make. I did change the recipe slightly and use Cream Sherry instead of dry sherry. Cooking temp and time delivered perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great recipe although i prefer Madeira instead of the sherry. The cheese is a good addition,however, being a blue cheese lover I used a nice mild gorgonzola, which is a classic pairing with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I used one big piece of tenderloin which I BRIEFLY grilled to add the flavor. Chopped mushrooms small-ish. Do not overcook! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Excellent and rich, served it for Christmas Eve dinner. ; reduce the per/lb expense of the meat by checking with your butcher to see if there are any chateaubriand cuts instead of fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I seared the meat first on all sides, let it cool and wrapped in pastry. I placed the wellingtons on a rack on a baking sheet, covered and refrigerated until it was time to cook. I brushed them with egg wash and baked 425 convection oven for 20 minutes, let rest for 15 minutes and they were a perfect rare. I served them with buttermilk smashed red potatoes and roasted asparagus. My guests cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These were good, although I chose to use eye of round steaks, which I wouldn't do again. If you are going to go through the trouble to make this... make is the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tlechien
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I only gave this recipe 4 stars because the puff pastry turned out really soggy on the bottom. I did brown the fillets in a hot skillet before wrapping them, but next time I'll heat the cookie sheet (as another reviewer suggested). I served it with pepper crusted baked potato and skewered shrimp, yum. I will definitely try again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I created a crazy fun appetizer for a cocktail party. Aafter browning the tenderloin, I chopped it into small cubes. After testing a few rounds, I found it really important to make it easy to eat as a finger food. Make ahead of time and freeze. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this recipe last night and it came out wonderfully! I seared the steaks for about 30 seconds in the hottest pan I could get and then chilled them down again. Also, I read in several reviews that you have to HEAT your cookie sheet or baking pan before putting the wellingtons on or they will get soggy on the bottom, this worked like a charm. I got nervous about the cooking time when the pastry got brown (I had coated the outside in an egg wash that made it a beautiful golden color), so I turned the oven down to 325 after about 15 minutes, still left the meat in for the rest of the cooking time for a total of 25 minutes and they were perfectly medium rare. I modified the ingredients to this recipe to include shallots and garlic (instead of onions) and spread the mushroom paste on top of the filet before wrapping in the pastry. I had also squeezed the mushrooms after cooking in between layers of paper towels to get rid of the excess water. I added about 2 tablespoons of gorgonzola cheese inside, which added GREAT flavor! For a sauce to accompany the dish, I would recommend reducing 4 cups of beef stock and 1.5 cups of port down to about 2 c. volume and then whisking in 1 tbsp butter mixed with 1 tbsp flour (mixed into a paste). After it thickened, I stirred in some caramelized shallots, another tbsp of butter, and a few bits of crumbled bacon - season with pepper. This was a combination of a few other sauces I've seen on this site and it tasted like something I'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I used 6 4-oz fillets for this recipe, as an 8 oz serving of beef PLUS puff pastry is just too much food for us. One 17.5 oz package of puff pastry, rolled out slightly, fit the six fillets perfectly. The little fillets cooked to medium rare in a 400 degree oven in 20 minutes; could have let them go a bit longer, I think, to really brown up the pastry. I covered with foil for 10 minutes when they came out, and they were juicy and delicious! I also added a bit of minced garlic and Worcestershire sauce to the mushroom mixture, just because I love the flavors with beef, and whizzed up the mixture in the food processor slightly before adding on top of the steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States