Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Wow, what a delightful dish. I often serve filet for special meals, and this added that special touch to make it fun and different. The flavors are classic combinations, and the recipe works well exactly as written. The meat was so flavorful and tender - the cooking times were accurate. However, I have made some variations for fun on some occasions - I've added feta to the paste mixture, and I've swapped shallots for onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
awasome and impressive my husband loved it!! i put fontella cheese in mine. very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I had never had beef wellington before and decided to give this a try. It was quite good. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor in the steak, so we used a dijon mustard and spread that over canned crescent rolls (in place of the puff pastry) and wrapped the steaks. Will be making this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My family really like these and the children liked helping to make them. We made mini Wellingtons for appetizers. Using a lot of the suggestions from the reviews, here is what I did: I cut the beef into 1-inch cubes and then browned them in a pan for about a minute. For the vegetable mixture, I used brandy instead of sherry, shallots instead of onions and frozen Shiitake mushrooms (thawed with excess water squeezed out) instead of fresh mushrooms. I also added two garlic cloves. I put all the vegetables including some brandy into the blender and made a paste then sauteed it with butter, rest of the brandy, about two tablespoons of heavy cream, and a couple of squirts of Worcestershire sauce. When wrapping the beef, I cut small squares of pastry for the one-inch cubes of beef and added a small swiss cheese slice to each one along with the vegetable paste. I first baked a couple in the toaster oven before I assembled the rest to see how they tasted. That is when I realized they needed salt. After I added about 1/8 teaspoon of salt to the vegetable paste, I baked the rest in the oven. They looked great and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I was making these with my mother earlier today. It took me a while to figure out how to wrap the beef and sauce so it wouldn't fall apart during baking, but the time spent making them was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I followed this recipe as written, did not add or subtract anything. They looked beautiful! However....The meat was tough and there was NO flavor. Don't think I'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhahn1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Pretty good. Can't do wrong with anything using a puff pastry. I would actually reduce the time to 20 minutes next time, they were well done at 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
My husband loved this recipes. I am not a huge fan of mushrooms so I didn't LOVE it. We did put foil over the wellingtons after the bake time for another 5 min. and the steak was cooked perfectly medium. I also added garlic to the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I can't believe I made these and they actually came out great! I followed the recipe exactly as is...big hit! It was like dining at a fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I did not use onions, I used a shallot and 2 t minced garlic..put all in my mini chopper to make a paste. added worch sauce, 1 t to pan with sherry. preheat cookie sheet, also I baked steaks alone in oven for 20 minutes to ensure they would be done once baked in pastry, my family likes well done meat. I baked about 20 minutes in the pastry, topped with hollandaise sauce....great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States