Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
update, Made this for the 2nd time and it was to die for. I put them on a rack this time to keep them out of the juices and used less dough......Everyone LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli Lassiter-Vering

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I must agree with another reviewer: lowering the temp after 15 minutes and covering the wellingtons with an egg wash is key. I added salt, pepper and garlic to the mushrooms and replaced the sherry with port (that's what I had on hand) and it turned out beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing Marbalet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. I made it for a dinner party and then again for Christmas dinner because everyone raved about it. My husband says it was one of the best things he has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very fancy and impressive dinner. Made a few modifications. Used whateever red wine on hand instead of the sherry. Tasted fine. I used fresh garlic and monterey seasoning for added flavor. Also brushed dijon mustard all over the fillets. I put floor on the bottom of baking tray to prevent sticking. Also brushed pastry with egg wash before baking. Made ahead and turned out great, 25 minutes was perfect. My fillets were 5 to 6 oz. Makes a very elegant presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I would give this a big ZERO if I could. This was our first attemp at beef wellington and followed the recipe to a T. After spending nearly $40 on steaks we were more then dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was very good! I didn't have sherry so used merlot and chopped the mushrooms. I also browned the filets first. I used fillo dough (brushing with butter between layers--6 layers) gathering up all sides and twist then brushed with butter. They looked so elegant and my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
So so easy and absolutely delicious - will definitely make again. I was worried steak may be undercooked but was absolutely perfect and so tender. Highly reccommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gore, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
i used filet cut, much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicioius! I seared the steaks on all sides before wrapping them in pastry. They were very good; we will definitely have these again. It made for an excellent Valentine's Day Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed buy my kids not so much. I would make again for the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States