Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I can't believe I made these and they actually came out great! I followed the recipe exactly as is...big hit! It was like dining at a fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I did not use onions, I used a shallot and 2 t minced garlic..put all in my mini chopper to make a paste. added worch sauce, 1 t to pan with sherry. preheat cookie sheet, also I baked steaks alone in oven for 20 minutes to ensure they would be done once baked in pastry, my family likes well done meat. I baked about 20 minutes in the pastry, topped with hollandaise sauce....great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe! Very easy to make. I did change the recipe slightly and use Cream Sherry instead of dry sherry. Cooking temp and time delivered perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great recipe although i prefer Madeira instead of the sherry. The cheese is a good addition,however, being a blue cheese lover I used a nice mild gorgonzola, which is a classic pairing with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I used one big piece of tenderloin which I BRIEFLY grilled to add the flavor. Chopped mushrooms small-ish. Do not overcook! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Excellent and rich, served it for Christmas Eve dinner. ; reduce the per/lb expense of the meat by checking with your butcher to see if there are any chateaubriand cuts instead of fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I seared the meat first on all sides, let it cool and wrapped in pastry. I placed the wellingtons on a rack on a baking sheet, covered and refrigerated until it was time to cook. I brushed them with egg wash and baked 425 convection oven for 20 minutes, let rest for 15 minutes and they were a perfect rare. I served them with buttermilk smashed red potatoes and roasted asparagus. My guests cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary K. Lyskawa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These were good, although I chose to use eye of round steaks, which I wouldn't do again. If you are going to go through the trouble to make this... make is the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tlechien
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I only gave this recipe 4 stars because the puff pastry turned out really soggy on the bottom. I did brown the fillets in a hot skillet before wrapping them, but next time I'll heat the cookie sheet (as another reviewer suggested). I served it with pepper crusted baked potato and skewered shrimp, yum. I will definitely try again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I created a crazy fun appetizer for a cocktail party. Aafter browning the tenderloin, I chopped it into small cubes. After testing a few rounds, I found it really important to make it easy to eat as a finger food. Make ahead of time and freeze. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States