Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Hey there! This was my first time making this dish and this recipe really helped me out. I wanted to make a full beef wellington, but my hubby brought home cut up prime rib steaks instead! My only comment would be watch the cooking time: I followed the recipe and they were definitely well done. For medium rare I'd suggest sticking the biggest one with a thermometer after 15 minutes -you may find they are done at that point. I definitely accomplished impressing my guests with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was great! So much easier than I thought it would be. Used shallots and garlic instead of onion, but other than that, followed recipe. It wasn't cheap to make, but for a special occasion it is totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was amazed at how easy and delicious these were. Just wish the directions were a bit more clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My husband and I made this dish when my parents came to visit. We just loved it. We had made the traditional style beef wellington before and that was so huge and seems to take a ton of time to prepare. We liked this because it was simplier and you ended up getting more puff pastry with your meat which is really yummy. The only substitution that I made was using beef loin instead of tenderloin. The ternderloin was really expensive so I went down a step in meat quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Delicious! The first time I added a cooked bacon strip and crumbled bleu cheese to each bundle - the cheese is a must! The second time we did away with the bacon and it's still a winner! What an easy way to impress! I brushed each bundle with melted butter as well before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knockoutchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Finally had a chance to make this. Was a huge success with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
i loved this! i've been on a hell's kitchen kick for the past week, same with the boyfriend, so i decided to make this. super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastywhalebacon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Great recipe! I never was able to get a "paste" out of those mushrooms, though, so they went into the food processor. I made these as appetizers, with each piece of tenderloin individually wrapped. When I rolled out the pastry, I cut it into 16 squares, put a dollop of the mushroom mix on each, and placed the beef on top of that. Then I then wet the edges of the pastry and pulled them to seal. Then I placed it on the baking sheet seam side down. I'd sauteed the beef pieces a bit because none of my guests like rare meat. When they were done, the beef was well done, but very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
The boyfriend liked it but however did not. Maybe it's the fact that they've got the puff pastry on it, I don't know. I thought it was bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
We had this for dinner tonight and it was excellent all the way around. We did sear the meat before wrapping and baked it at 425 for 15 minutes before turning the temperature down to 350 for another 10 minutes. It turned out a perfect medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States